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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE AS A 
CERTIFIED SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIST 

APPLICATION FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE 
BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING POINTS CAREFULLY! 

NOTE 
AN APPLICATION THAT IS NOT COMPLETE EXPIRES 180 DAYS AFTER IT IS 

SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD. IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE APPLICANT 
TO ENSURE THAT ALL NECESSARY SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS ARRIVE AT THE 
BOARD PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION DATE. IF THE ORIGINAL APPLICATION 

EXPIRES, THE APPLICANT MUST SUBMIT ANOTHER APPLICATION, PAY THE 
APPLICATION FEE AGAIN AND ENSURE THAT NEW SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS 

ALSO GET TO THE BOARD. 

You should familiarize yourself with the qualifications required for licensure by reviewing the 
laws and regulations governing the practice of surgical assisting in Virginia. They can be found 
at: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_laws_regs.htm. 

The Board works as efficiently as possible to process applications. The time from filing an 
application with the Board until the issuance of a license is dependent upon entities over which 
the Board has no control. It is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that outside entities send 
the necessary documentation to the Board. 

NB: Virginia law considers material misrepresentation of fact in an application for licensure to 
be unprofessional conduct. Misrepresentation may be by commission or omission. Be sure of your 
facts and provide full responses to the Board’s questions. 

A completed application must be submitted along with the payment of the licensing fee of $75.00. 
Applications and fees must be submitted together. 

The phone number to the Virginia Board of Medicine is 804-367-4600. The email address for 
this profession is surgtech-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov 

Mailing Address 
Virginia Board of Medicine 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA 23233-1463 

The Board of Medicine discourages the use of the United States Postal Service to send 
documents. The Board is unable to trace documents delivered by the Postal Service. If you wish 
to send your documents by overnight mail, please use FED EX or UPS. If noted below, certain 
documents may be submitted directly from the primary source entity or employer by an email 
PDF attachment or facsimile the Board. 
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Application Instructions 

Complete the application and pay the fee of $75.00 

Surgical Technologists - Provide to the Board documentation of one of the following six (6) 
credentialing pathways listed below. For any pathway selected, please mail an original notarized copy 
of your credential/certificate, transcript, diploma, or letter of completion to the Board. You can 
also request that this information be emailed directly to the Board at surgtech- medbd@dhp.virginia.gov 
by the credentialing body or the program where you completed your surgical technology training or 
apprenticeship. Employer’s letter verifying practice must come directly to the Board from the employer. The 
Board will not accept a document that is copied after the notary stamp has been affixed. 

PATHWAY 1 (National Certification) 

Notarized copy of transcript or certificate awarded showing successful completion of an accredited 
surgical technologist training program and current credential as a surgical technologist issued by the 
National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting(NBSTSA) or its successor; or 

PATHWAY 2 (Military Training) 

Successful completion of a training program for surgical technology during the applicant’s 
service as a member of any branch of the armed forces of the United States; or 

PATHWAY 3 (Apprenticeship Program) 

Successful completion of a surgical technologist apprenticeship program registered with the U.S. 
Department of Labor; or 

PATHWAY 4 (Hospital-Based Training Program) 

Successful completion an hospital-based surgical technologist training program approved by the Board; or 

PATHWAY 5 (Nationally Accredited Training Program and Current Credential as a Surgical Technologist) 

Successful completion of a surgical technologist training program through an institution or program 
accredited by a nationally recognized accreditation organization and hold current credential as a surgical 
technologist from a board-approved entity. The surgical technologist credential issued by the National 
Center for Competency Testing (NCCT) is approved by the Board; or 

License Verification – If licensed/certified/registered or permitted to practice as a surgical 
technologist in another state or jurisdiction, verification of professional license from a 
jurisdiction within the United States,  its  territories  and  possessions  or  Canada  in  which  
you  have  been  issued  a license/certificate/registration or permit must be received by the 
Board. Please contact the jurisdiction where you have been issued a 
license/certificate/registration or permit to practice as a surgical technologist to inquire about 
having documentation forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine. Verification must come directly 
from the jurisdiction and may be sent by email to surgtech- medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to (804) 
527-4426 or mailed.
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PLEASE NOTE: 

*If you answer “yes” to any question in numbers 6-18, please provide a brief explanation on your
application and send a separate written explanation to the Board, along with proof of supporting
documentation of the disposition.

Please be aware that Virginia law allows an address that is public and available to those who ask for it, but 
it also allows for a private address as well. The private address is referred to as the “address of record”, 
and it is the address to which communications from the Board of Medicine are to be sent. If you give only 
one address, the Board will consider it as public, and it will be made available to those who ask for it. For 
the “address of record”, you may use a P.O. Box or a practice location instead of your home address. 

*Applications will be acknowledged after receipt if items are missing.

*Applications not completed within 180 days may be purged without notice from the Board.

*Additional information may be requested after review by Board representatives.

*Application fees are non-refundable.

PROCEEDING TO THE APPLICATION SIGNIFIES THAT YOU HAVE READ AND ACCEPT 
THE FOREGOING PRINCIPLES REGARDING THE BOARD’S PROCESSE 
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