## INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE AS A RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLGIST IN VIRGINIA

# THIS IS NOT THE APPLICATION FOR LIMITED RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGIST OR RADIOLOGIST ASSISTANT.

(This form has been designed to be used as a checklist when preparing to submit your application.)

APPLICATION FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE

BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING POINTS CAREFULLY!

DO NOT BEGIN PRACTICING BEFORE YOU ARE ISSUED A LICENSE.

This is the application for a license to practice as a Radiologic Technologist.

You should familiarize yourself with the qualifications required for a license by reviewing the laws and regulations governing the practice of radiologic technology in Virginia. They can be found at: <a href="http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine">http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine</a> laws regs.htm

The Board works as efficiently as possible to process applications. The time from filing an application with the Board until the issuance of a license is dependent upon entities over which the Board has no control. It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure that outside entities send the necessary documentation to the Board.

The Board provides an electronic checklist for your convenience in tracking your application. You should allow approximately 15 business days for your application checklist to be first updated on the Board's website.

Supporting documentation will be added to your checklist as it is received. Processing of documents may take up to 10 business days after they are received. If you find your checklist does not exist or does not indicate necessary documents have been received, e-mail the Board at <a href="mailto:radtech-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov">radtech-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov</a>, with "Radiologic Technologist Application Question" in the subject line. E-mails will be answered within 2 business days.

Your application checklist may be viewed by logging into your application and clicking on the "View Checklist" link located in the Pending Licenses section. This link will not be visible for applicants who have not yet paid the application fee. If you have submitted your application and required fee online, but no longer see your checklist in the Pending Licensing section, your license may have been issued by the Board. Before calling the Board, please visit <a href="https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index">https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index</a> to view your newly issued license. This website is primary source license verification that meets the Joint Commission's requirements for license verification. If you need technical assistance with your checklist contact the agency's helpdesk at 804-367-4444. The helpdesk cannot provide assistance regarding information about your documents.

The Board of Medicine discourages the use of the United States Postal Service to send documents. If possible, and if noted below, you are encouraged to have your documents sent by pdf attachment, FAX, FED EX or UPS. The Board is unable to trace documents not delivered by the post office.

Supporting documentation sent to the Board when there is no application on file will be purged after six months.

NB: Virginia law considers material misrepresentation of fact in an application for licensure to be a Class 1 misdemeanor. Misrepresentation may be by commission or omission. Be sure of your facts and provide full responses to the Board's questions.

#### PROCEEDING TO THE APPLICATION SIGNIFIES THAT YOU HAVE READ AND ACCEPT THE FOREGOING PRINCIPLES REGARDING THE BOARD'S PROCESSES.

### INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AS A RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGIST

(This form has been designed for use as a checklist for submitting required documentation.

<u> </u>	Complete the online application at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/, which includes paying the nonrefundable application fee of \$130.00. Application fees may only be paid using Visa, MasterCard or Discover. Application submitted without the fee will not be processed.
<u></u>	<b>Professional Education</b> – A transcript of your professional education must be completed by your professional school and sent to the Board. Official school transcript can be emailed directly by the school to <a href="RadTech-Medbd@dhp.virginia.gov">RadTech-Medbd@dhp.virginia.gov</a> . If your school is no longer in existence, you may submit a written explanation with a notarized copy of your diploma, or if you received other training accepted by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists to become certified, written evidence (e.g. notarized copy of original certificate) must be submitted to the board. This documentation <a href="may not">may not</a> be faxed or emailed.
<u></u> 3	<b>Verification of ARRT Certification</b> – ARRT certification should be requested from the ARRT and asked to be sent to the Board office. This documentation <b>should not</b> be faxed. Certification must come directly from ARRT and can be emailed to <a href="mailto:RadTech-Medbd@dhp.virginia.gov">RadTech-Medbd@dhp.virginia.gov</a> . ARRT's contact information is:
	American Registry of Radiologic Technologist
	1255 Northland Drive
	Mendota Heights, Minnesota 55120-1155
	Telephone: (651) 687-0048
	www.arrt.org
•	you are credentialed by the NMTCB, contact the NMTCB to have your certification sent directly to the
Bo	ard. Their contact information is:
	Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board
	3558 Habersham at Northlake Road
	Tucker, GA 30084 -4009 Telephone: (404) 315-1739
	www.nmtcb.org
	www.minco.org
	ns 4-6 are not required if you have never practiced your profession and you e never held licensure in another jurisdiction.
<u></u> 4	<b>Employment Activity</b> – List all employment activities from the date of graduation from your professional school in the "Employment Activity" section of the application beginning with your first activity following professional school graduation. If you are employed by a traveler company or work for a placement agency, please provide a list of all dates and locations of service. If you need additional space to record your activities, follow the link provided to obtain a supplemental form to complete and submit with your application:
	Supplemental Form: <a href="https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/med/forms/SupplementalForm.pdf">https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/med/forms/SupplementalForm.pdf</a>
<u></u> 5	License Verification—Verification of one radiologic technologist license from a jurisdiction within the United States, its territories and possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a license/certificate or registration must be received by the Board. Please contact the applicable jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to practice radiologic technology to inquire about having verification forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine. Verification must come directly from the jurisdiction and may be sent by

email to RadTech-Medbd@dhp.virginia.gov or faxed to (804) 527-4426.

☐6 NPDB Self Query - Complete the online Place a Self-Query Order form. Be ready to provide:

- o Identifying information such as name, date of birth, Social Security number
- o State health care license information (if you are licensed)
- o Credit or debit card information for the \$4.00 fee (charged for each copy you request)

**Verify your identity**. This can be done electronically as part of your order or by completing a paper form and having it notarized. You will receive full instructions as you complete your order. Wait for your response. Once your identity is verified, the NPDB will process your order.

PLEASE NOTE: The Board would accept a digitally-certified electronic copy of your NPDB self-query report, if requested in lieu of a mailed copy. The digitally-certified electronic copy can be emailed to <a href="mailed-

If you request a paper copy, a paper copy of your NPDB report will be sent the next business day by regular U.S. mail. If you choose to mail your NPDB self-query report, when you receive your report in the mail from NPDB, DO NOT OPEN IT. Place your unopened NPDB report in an oversized envelope and forward it to the Virginia Board of Medicine. The Board recommends using Fed EX or UPS for tracking purposes. The Board of Medicine is unable to track any mail or other package that is sent via the United States Postal Service. Any NPDB report received for an application not completed within 6 months of receipt of the NPDB report will have to be resubmitted.

#### Please note:

- ▶ Applications not completed within 180 days may be purged without notice from the board. Applicants who would like to continue the process after 180 days will be required to submit a new application and fee.
- ▶ Virginia is a direct verification state. All supporting documents must come from the original source unless specifically noted in the instructions.
- ► Additional information not already listed may be requested at any time during the process.
- ► Application fees are non-refundable.
- ▶ Submission of an application does not guarantee a license. A review of your application could result in the finding that you may not be eligible pursuant to Virginia laws and regulations.

\*If you are granted a Virginia license please be advised that continued learning is required after the first renewal cycle following initial licensure. Requirements can be found on the Board's website.

Email: radtech-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov

Website:www.dhp.virginia.gov