INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE AS AN OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST / OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANT IN VIRGINIA

(This form has been designed to be used as a checklist when preparing to submit your application.)

APPLICATION FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE

BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY!

This is the application for a full and unrestricted license to practice Occupational Therapy and Occupational Therapy Assistant in Virginia. The Board recommends that new graduates complete this application when applying for the NBCOT exam.

A graduate of an accredited occupational therapy/assistant program may practice with the designated title of "Occupational Therapist/Assistant, License Applicant" or "O.T./L - Applicant" until he/she has received a failing score on the licensure examination from the NBCOT or for six months from the date of graduation, whichever occurs sooner.

You should familiarize yourself with the qualifications required for a full license by reviewing the laws and regulations governing the practice of occupational therapy in Virginia. They can be found at: http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_laws_regs.htm

The Board works as efficiently as possible to process applications. The time from filing an application with the Board until the issuance of a license is dependent upon entities over which the Board has no control. It is the applicant's responsibility to ensure that outside entities send the necessary documentation to the Board. You should not expect the process to take less than 8-12 weeks, so plan accordingly if you are pursuing a practice position in Virginia.

The Board provides an electronic checklist for your convenience in tracking your application. You should allow approximately 10-15 business days for your initial application checklist to be updated on the Board's website. Supporting documentation will be added to your checklist as it is received. Processing of documents may take up to 15 business days after they are received. If you find your checklist does not exist or does not indicate necessary documents have been received, e-mail the Board at <u>ot-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u> with "Occupational Therapy Application Question" in the subject line. E-mails will be answered within 2 business days.

Your application checklist may be viewed by logging into your application and clicking on the "View Checklist" link located in the Pending Licenses section. This link will not be visible for applicants who have not yet paid the application fee. If you have submitted your application and required fee online, but no longer see your checklist in the Pending Licensing section, your license may have been issued by the Board. Please visit <u>https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index</u> to view your newly issued license. This website is primary source license verification that meets the Joint Commission's requirements for license verification. If you need technical assistance with your checklist contact the agency's helpdesk at 804-367-4444. The helpdesk cannot provide assistance regarding information about your documents.

Supporting documentation sent to the Board when there is no application on file will be purged after six months.

NB: Virginia law considers material misrepresentation of fact in an application for licensure to be a Class 1 misdemeanor. Misrepresentation may be by commission or omission. Be sure of your facts and provide full responses to the Board's questions.

PROCEEDING TO THE APPLICATION SIGNIFIES THAT YOU HAVE READ AND ACCEPT THE FOREGOING PRINCIPLES REGARDING THE BOARD'S PROCESSES.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY LICENSURE APPLICATION

(This form has been designed to be used as a checklist for submitted required documentation.)

- □1. Complete the online application at <u>https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/</u>, which includes paying the nonrefundable application fee of \$130.00 for Occupational Therapy application and \$70.00 for the Occupational Therapy Assistant application. Application fees may only be paid using Visa, MasterCard or Discover. Application submitted without fees will not be processed.
- 2. Employment Activity List all employment activities from the date of graduation of your professional school in the "employment activity" section of the application. Include employers and locations of service. If you work for a placement agency, have the agency provide a list of dates and locations of service.
- 3. NPDB Self Query Complete the online Place a Self-Query Order form. Be ready to provide: o Identifying information such as name, date of birth, Social Security number o State health care license information (if you are licensed) o Credit or debit card information for the \$4.00 fee (charged for each copy you request)

Verify your identity. This can be done electronically as part of your order or by completing a paper form and having it notarized. You will receive full instructions as you complete your order.

Wait for your response. Once your identity is verified, the NPDB will process your order. A paper copy of your response will be sent the next business day by regular U.S. mail.

Please note that the Board will accept a digitally-certified electronic copy of the NPDB report that is emailed to the Board, in lieu of a mailed report.

Should you choose to mail your report, when you receive your report in the mail from NPDB, **DO NOT OPEN IT.** Place your unopened NPDB report in an oversized envelope and forward it to the Virginia Board of Medicine. The Board recommends using Fed EX or UPS for tracking purposes.

Any NPDB report received for an application not completed within 180 days of receipt of the NPDB report will have to be resubmitted.

If you are a new graduate with no licensure history, you do not need to send an NPDB selfquery report to the Board. **4.** License Verification - Verification of Occupational Therapy license from a jurisdiction within the United States, its territories and possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a full license must be received by the Board. Please contact the jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to practice Occupational Therapy to request that a verification of your license be forwarded to the Board. Verification must come directly from the jurisdiction and can be sent by email to <u>ot-medbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u>, faxed to (804) 527-4426 or mailed.

- **5.** NBCOT Certification Contact the National Board of Certification of Occupational Therapy at <u>www.nbcot.org</u> or telephone: (301) 990-7979 to request a verification of your certification be sent to the Board. This information must come directly from the NBCOT and can be emailed to the Board at <u>OT-Medbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u>, or mailed.
- ☐6. Transcripts School transcripts verifying your professional education in occupational therapy must be provided directly by the school and <u>SHOULD NOT</u> be faxed. Transcripts must be official and must bear the school seal. Transcripts will be accepted if they come directly from the school to the Board or if mailed to the Board by the applicant in the original sealed envelope. The Board would accept transcripts sent electronically from the school by email to the Board at <u>OT-Medbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u> or by mail.

If you received your professional education outside the United States, verification of completion of academic and fieldwork requirements in a program approved by a member association of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists as verified by the program director must be received directly from the school or program as required by the NBCOT. Also, submit evidence that you have taken and passed either the TOEFL or TSE examination (test scores) for English proficiency. This requirement may be waived pursuant to Virginia regulations 18 VAC 85-80-40 B. https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency85/chapter80/

Please note:

- ▶ Please include "Occupational Therapy Application" in the subject line of all emails to the Board.
- ► Applications not completed within 180 days may be purged without notice from the board.
- ► Additional information not already listed may be requested at any time during the process.

► Application fees are non-refundable.

►	The Board's mailing address is	The Virginia Board of Medicine
	-	Perimeter Center
		9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
		Henrico, VA 23233

► Email inquiries are normally responded to within 2 business days. Send your email inquiries to <u>OT-</u><u>Medbd@dhp.Virginia.gov</u>.

► Submission of an application does not guarantee a license. A review of your application could result in the finding that you may not be eligible pursuant to Virginia laws and regulations.