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Revised 12/17 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE CHIROPRACTICE IN 
VIRGINIA 

(This form has been designed to be used as a checklist when preparing to submit your application.) 

 
APPLICATION FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE 

 
BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING POINTS CAREFULLY! 

 
This is the application for a full and unrestricted Chiropractic license to practice 
chiropractic care in Virginia.   
 
You should familiarize yourself with the qualifications required for a full license by 
reviewing the laws and regulations governing the practice of chiropractic in Virginia.  
They can be found at:  http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_laws_regs.htm 
 
The Board works as efficiently as possible to process applications.  The time from filing 
an application with the Board until the issuance of a license is dependent upon entities 
over which the Board has no control.  It is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that 
outside entities send the necessary documentation to the Board.  You should not expect 
the process to take less than 3-4 months, so plan accordingly if you are pursuing a 
practice position in Virginia. 
 
The Board provides an electronic checklist for your convenience in tracking your 
application.  You should allow approximately 30 days for your application checklist be 
first updated on the Board’s website.  Supporting documentation will be added to your 
checklist as it is received.  Processing of documents may take up to 10 business days 
after they are received.  If you find your checklist does not exist or does not indicate 
necessary documents have been received, e-mail the Board at 
medboard@dhp.virginia.gov with “Chiropractic Application Question” in the subject 
line.  E-mails will be answered within 2 business days. 
 
Your application checklist may be viewed by logging into your application and clicking 
on the “View Checklist” link located in the Pending Licenses section.  This link will not 
be visible for applicants who have not yet paid the application fee.  If you have 
submitted your application and required fee online, but no longer see your checklist 
listed in the Pending Licensing section, your license may have been issued by the Board. 
 Please visit https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index and view your newly 
issued license.    If you need technical assistance with your checklist contact the agency’s 
helpdesk at 804-367-4444.  The helpdesk cannot provide assistance regarding 
information about your documents.    
 
The Board of Medicine discourages the use of the United States Postal Service to send 
documents.  If possible, and if noted below, you are encouraged to have your documents 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_laws_regs.htm
mailto:medboard@dhp.virginia.gov
https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index
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sent by pdf attachment, FAX, FED EX or UPS.  The Board is unable to trace documents 
not delivered by the post office.  
 
Supporting documentation sent to the Board when there is no application on file will be 
purged after six months.   
 
NB:  Virginia law considers material misrepresentation of fact in an application for 
licensure to be a Class 1 misdemeanor.  Misrepresentation may be by commission or 
omission.  Be sure of your facts and provide full responses to the Board’s questions. 
 
PROCEEDING TO THE APPLICATION SIGNIFIES THAT YOU HAVE READ AND 
ACCEPT THE FOREGOING PRINCIPLES REGARDING THE BOARD’S 
PROCESSES. 
 
Please Note:  
 
  1. If the applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college on or after July 1, 1975, he shall be a graduate of 

a chiropractic college accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of the Council of Chiropractic 
Education or any other organization approved by the board. 

 
  2. If the applicant matriculated in a chiropractic college prior to July 1, 1975, he shall be a graduate of a 

chiropractic college accredited by the American Chiropractic Association or the International 
Chiropractic Association or any other organization approved by the board. 

 
 A Doctor of Chiropractic who has met the requirements of one of the following may be accepted for licensure. 

 
  1.   An applicant who graduated after January 31, 1996 shall document successful completion of Parts I, II, 

III, and IV of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners examination (NBCE). 
 
  2.  An applicant who graduated from January 31, 1991 to January 31, 1996 shall document successful 

completion of Parts I, II, and III of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners examination (NBCE). 
 
  3.  An applicant who graduated from July 1, 1965 to January 31, 1991, shall document successful 

completion of Parts I, II, and III of the NBCE, or Parts I and II of the NBCE and the Special Purpose 
Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC), and document evidence of licensure in another state for at least 
two years immediately preceding his application. 

 
  4.  An applicant who graduated prior to July 1, 1965 shall document successful completion of the SPEC 

and document evidence of licensure in another state for at least two years immediately preceding his 
application. 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
The applicant is responsible for forwarding all of the required forms to the appropriate institutions, states 
and other agencies. 
 

1.    Complete the online application   https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ which includes paying the 
nonrefundable application fee of $277.00.  Application fees may only be paid using Visa, MasterCard or 
Discover.  

 
2.    Examination Scores - Request the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners to submit a certified copy of 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
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your grades attained on the National Board examination or the Special Purpose Examination for Chiropractic. 
 You may request your examination scores on-line at http://www.nbce.org/   

 
3. Transcripts – Transcripts must be official.  Transcripts will be accepted if they come directly from the 

school to the Board or if sent to the Board by the applicant in a sealed envelope with the school’s seal.  This 
document may not be faxed. 

 
Items 4-6 are not required if you have never practiced your profession and you 
have never held licensure in another jurisdiction.  
 

4.     Employment Activity (Form B) Questionnaire – All applicants must list all activities from the date of 
graduation from your professional school including but not limited to internships, employment, affiliations, 
periods of non-activity or unemployment, observerships and volunteer service in the  “Employment 
Activity” section of the application beginning with your first activity following professional school 
graduation.  If you are employed by a group practice or locum tenens/traveler company, please list all 
locations where you have provided service or held privileges.  Follow this link to obtain a Form B: 

 
 Form B - Hospital/Employment History Questionnaire 
 

For further information related to completing Form B’s please review the following guidance document 
before contacting the Board of Medicine:  Guidance on Completing Form B Employment Verifications, 
adopted December 1, 2017 

 
            Form B’s sent to the Virginia Board of Medicine by the applicant will not be accepted.  
 

A completed Form B Activity Questionnaire or a letter of recommendation must be received from all 
locations of service,  places of practice or professional employment, observerships, professional research 
positions or professional volunteer service listed for the 2 years immediately preceding application.  Form 
B’s completed by a non-medical professional may not be accepted.  

 
For applicants practicing as locum tenens / travelers, have the company you are affiliated with 
provide a complete list of all locations and dates where you have provided service. Form B 
employment verifications must be received from each location of service for the past 2 years.  

 
Completed Form B’s may be attached as a PDF and sent to medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to 
(804) 527-4426 or mailed by the person completing the document.  

 
Form B’s will not be accepted from the applicant.  

 
 5.  Jurisdiction Clearance – License Verification:   Verifications of chiropractor licenses from all jurisdictions   

          within the United States, its territories and possessions in which you have been issued a full license must be     
          received by the Board.  Please contact the applicable jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to 
          practice chiropractic to inquire about having documentation forwarded to the Virginia Board of            
          Medicine.  Verification must come from the jurisdiction and may be sent by email to                                          
          medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to (804) 527-4426 or mailed.  If you are a new graduate with no                  
     previous license history, you do not need to provide license verification.  
 

7. NPDB Self Query – Complete the online  Place a Self-Query Order form. Be ready to provide: 
         o Identifying information such as name, date of birth, Social Security number 
         o State health care license information (if you are licensed) 
         o Credit or debit card information for the $4.00 fee (charged for each copy you request) 
 
Verify your identity. This can be done electronically as part of your order or by completing a paper form and 
having it notarized. You will receive full instructions as you complete your order. 

http://www.nbce.org/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Forms/medicine/FormB.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/guidelines/85-3.docx
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/guidelines/85-3.docx
mailto:medbd@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:medbd@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/ext/selfquery/SQHome.jsp
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Wait for your response. Once your identity is verified, the NPDB will process your order. A paper copy of 
your response will be sent the next business day by regular U.S. mail. 
The Board does not accept emailed copies of the NPDB report. When you receive your report in the mail from 
NPDB DO NOT OPEN IT. Place your unopened NPDB report in an oversized envelope and forward it to 
the Virginia Board of Medicine.  
 
The Board recommends using FED EX or UPS for tracking purposes. The Board of Medicine is unable to 
track any mail or other package that is sent via the United States Postal Service. Any NPDB report 
received for an application not completed within 3 months of receipt of the NPDB report will have to be 
resubmitted. 
 
Please note: If you are a new graduate with no professional employment or license history, you do not need 
to provide an NPDB report.   If you are licensed in another state, but have not had professional 
employment, the NPDB report is still required.    
 
Please note:  
 
► Applications not completed within 12 months may be purged without notice from the board.  
 
► Additional information not already listed may be requested at any time during the process. 
 
► Application fees are non-refundable. 
 
► The Board’s mailing address is  The Virginia Board of Medicine 

Perimeter Center 
                                                                  9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
     Henrico, VA 23233 
 
 
►Email inquiries are normally responded to within 2 business days.  Send your email inquiries to 
medboard@DHP.Virginia.gov.  Include Chiropractic Application in the subject line 
 
►Submission of an application does not guarantee a license.  A review of your application could result in the 
finding that you may not be eligible pursuant to Virginia laws and regulations.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

mailto:medboard@DHP.Virginia.gov


Clearly print/type name of applicant 

 

______________________________, ________________________ 

                                    
 Please Print Last Name   

                                          
Please Print First  

Rev. 7/17 

  FORM B - PLEASE CHECK APPROPRIATE PROFESSION   

 

 
                
 Please provide name and address of setting/organization exactly as it appears  
on your application chronology.  
           

  ________________________________________  Name of Setting: _____________________________________________________ 

      Address: _________________________________________________________ 

Last 4 of Social Security Number ___XXX-XX-_____________  City, State, Zip: ____________________________________________________________ 

 
   
  
 
 
 
 
 
  

1. Date and type of service:  This individual served with us as __________________________________________________________________ 
                 from _____________________ to _____________________.  
                                  (Month/Year)                           (Month/Year)                            
 

2. Please evaluate: (Indicate with check mark)           

  Poor Fair Good Superior 

Professional knowledge     

Clinical judgment     

Relationship with patients     

Ethical/professional conduct     

Interest in work     

Ability to communicate     
  

3.   Recommendation: (please indicate with check mark)  Recommend highly and without reservation          Recommend as qualified and competent  
Recommend with some reservation (explain) ____________________________________________________________________ 
Do not recommend (explain) ______________________________________________________________________________ 

 
4.  Of particular value to us in evaluating any applicant are any notable strengths and weaknesses (including personal demeanor).  We would appreciate  
         such comments from you. _______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
     
5.  The above report is based on: (please indicate with check mark)  

Close personal observation                              General impression                  A composite of evaluations 
Other: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

   
Date (Required): ________________________________________ Signed by: _________________________________________________ 
      Print or type name: ___________________________________________ 
Signator Contact Number: (__________) _____________________ Title: ______________________________________________________ 
       
 

 

(This report will become a part of the applicant’s file and may be reviewed by the applicant upon request.) 

 

q Acupuncturist     q Genetic Counselor   
q Athletic Trainer q Medicine and Surgery q Osteopathy and Surgery q  Radiologic Technologist 
q BCaBA      q Midwife   q Physician Assistant   q  Radiologic Technologist - Limited 
q BCBA q Occupational Therapist q Podiatry q Radiologist Assistant     
q Chiropractic q Occupational Therapist Assistant   q Polysomnographic Technologist  q Respiratory Therapist   

 

The Virginia Board of Medicine, in its consideration of an applicant for licensure, depends on information from persons and institutions 
regarding the applicant’s employment, training, affiliations, and staff privileges.  Please complete this form to the best of your ability and 
return it to the Board by mail, fax or email so the information you provide can be given consideration in the processing of his/her 
application in a timely manner.  I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, my references, personal physicians, 
employers (past and present), business and professional associates (past, and present) and governmental agencies and instrumentalities 
(local, state, federal or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Medicine any information, files or records requested by the Board in 
connection with the processing of my application.    

Signature of Applicant _______________________________________ 

Virginia Department of Health Professions 
Board of Medicine                   Phone: (804) 367-4600 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300                                           Fax: (804) 527-4426 
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463                                Email: medbd@dhp.virginia.gov 

        

mailto:medbd@dhp.virginia.gov
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