

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a VETERINARIAN in Virginia

READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY BEFORE PROCEEDING

- Laws and Regulations: Application requires an attestation to having read the applicable (laws and regulations).
- Application documentation: Applicant is responsible for notifying the source of the required documents to submit information directly to the board office by email, fax or postal mail. Optional forms for <u>licensure</u> and <u>employment</u> verification are available, if needed.
- Application Fee: Application fee of \$200.00 is required. A credit card may be used for online applications. Applications submitted by postal mail must be accompanied by check or money order made payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia." All fees are nonrefundable.
- Application payment receipt: A receipt may be printed upon approval of an online payment. Receipts for other forms of payment may be requested by email to <u>vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u>.
- Application tracking: To view the application checklist, log into the individual application account and select "View Checklist" located in "Pending Licenses" section. The link is not visible to applicants or the Board until required fee is paid. Allow approximately 21 business days for initial update to the checklist. Subsequent updates occur as documentation is received. For issues related to the checklist, send email to vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov.
- License expiration dates: Licenses issued prior to July 1 expire on December 31 of the current year. Licenses issued on or after July 1 expire December 31 of the following year.
- **Board Communication:** The Board's method of communication to applicants is via email.

APPLICATION METHODS and REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION:

EXAMINATION

- Official copy of transcript from a school of veterinary medicine accredited by the AVMA conferring degree **OR** in lieu of a transcript from an AVMA accredited college or school, certificate of completion from the Education Commission of Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) program or the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE).
- Verification of passing score for NAVLE (since the fall of 2000) or National Board Examination and Clinical Competency Test (prior to the fall of 2000). To request an examination score transfer, go to https://www.aavsb.org/.
- License <u>verification</u> of all veterinary licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction.

□ ENDORSEMENT

- License verification of all veterinary licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. Must hold at least one current and unrestricted license.
- Written documentation of clinical practice as a veterinarian for at least two of the past four years immediately preceding application. Clinical practice may be verified on the Board's optional <u>Employment Verification</u> Form, company letterhead or tax returns (1040) that reflect occupation.
- Documentation of completion of at least 30 hours of continuing education during the preceding four years.