

# INSTRUCTIONS/CHECKLIST FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE AS A SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST IN VIRGINIA (Includes Provisional for Re-entry into Practice)

## READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY BEFORE PROCEEDING

- Laws and Regulations: Application requires an attestation to having read the applicable laws and regulations.
- Application processing and documentation: Applicant is responsible for notifying the source of the require documents to submit information directly to the board office by email, fax or postal mail. Optional forms for <u>licensure</u> and <u>employment</u> verification are available. Please allow 21 business days from initial mailing for board staff to receive and process an application. An initial email will be forwarded that provides notification of receipt and a list of any missing application documentation.
- Application and Fee: An application fee of \$135.00 is required. If you have held a license issued by the Board that has expired, you must apply by <u>reinstatement</u>. All fees are nonrefundable.
- PRAXIS Scores: Please use Board code 9347 to have your PRAXIS scores released to the Virginia Department of Health Professions Board of Audiology and Speech Language Pathology.
- National Practitioner Data Bank Query (NPDB): Please request a current <u>digital self-query report</u> from the NPDB. There is a processing fee charged by NPDB for this service. Upon receipt of the digital report, please email report to the board office at <u>audbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u>.
- Initial license expiration dates: Licenses issued prior to January 1 of the current year will expire on June 30 of the following year (example: License issued December 1, 2020, will expire on June 30, 2021). Licenses issued on or after January 1 of the current year expire on June 30 of the second year (example: License issued January 3, 2021, will expire June 30, 2022).
- **Board Communication:** The Board's method of communication with applicants is via email.

#### **INITIAL LICENSURE – (Never held a Virginia license before)**

- Current and unrestricted ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence. (Note: Board staff will download documentation of ASHA certification.)
- License verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (NOTE: Staff will obtain license verifications from U.S. jurisdictions that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history. An applicant is responsible for requesting license verifications from jurisdictions that do not have an online verification system. The other jurisdiction is required to send the verification directly to the Board preferably via email at <u>audbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u>. Do not include teaching certificates.)
- Submission of NPDB digital self-query report.

#### LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT

#### **Option 1 – (Licensure in another U.S. jurisdiction, ASHA CCC and Active Practice or no Active Practice)**

- Current and unrestricted ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence or any other accrediting body recognized by the board. (Note: Board staff is able to download ASHA certificates.)
- <u>License</u> verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (**NOTE**: Staff will obtain license verifications from U.S. jurisdictions that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history. An applicant is responsible for requesting license verifications from jurisdictions that do not have an online verification system. The other jurisdiction is required to send the verification directly to the Board preferably via email at <u>audbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u>. Do not include teaching certificates.)
- Documentation of active practice for at least one of the past three consecutive years preceding date of application. Review Guidance Document <u>30-6</u>, Board guidance on definition of active practice for information on active practice. Employment may be verified on the Board's optional <u>Employment Verification Form</u>, company letterhead or tax returns (1040) reflecting occupation. If no active practice, board may issue a provisional license to practice in accordance with <u>18VAC30-21-70</u> for six months and submit a recommendation for licensure from supervisor. An applicant who

Revised: 08/2023



graduated from an accredited speech-language pathology program within 24 months immediately preceding application is not required to submit evidence of active practice if the applicant holds a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence.

• Submission of NPDB <u>digital self-query report</u>.

### Option 2 – (Licensure in another U.S. jurisdiction, Continuing Education (CE), and Active Practice or No Active Practice)

- Documentation of active practice for at least one of the past three consecutive years preceding date of application. Review Guidance Document <u>30-6</u>, **Board guidance on definition of active practice** for information on active practice. Employment may be verified on the Board's optional <u>Employment Verification Form</u>, company letterhead or tax returns (1040) reflecting occupation. If no active practice, board may issue a provisional license to practice in accordance with <u>18VAC30-21-70</u> for six months and submit a recommendation for licensure from supervisor. An applicant who graduated from an accredited audiology program within 24 months immediately preceding application is not required to submit evidence of active practice if the applicant holds a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence.
- Documentation of 10 CE hours for each year the license has been held in another jurisdiction, not to exceed 30 hours (ASHA CE transcript is accepted).
- Qualifying national exam scores (contact PRAXIS to release scores electronically to Virginia);
- <u>License</u> verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (**NOTE**: Staff will obtain license verifications from U.S. jurisdictions that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history. An applicant is responsible for requesting license verifications from jurisdictions that do not have an online verification system. The other jurisdiction is required to send the verification directly to the Board preferably via email at <u>audbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u>. Do not include teaching certificates.)
- Submission of NPDB <u>digital self-query report</u>.