

Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233-1463 Email: audbd@dhp.virginia.gov

Phone: (804) 597-4132 **Fax:** (804) 939-5238

Website: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/ASLP/

INSTRUCTIONS/CHECKLIST FOR APPLICATION FOR PROVISIONAL LICENSE TO PRACTICE AS SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST IN VIRGINIA (New Graduates Only)

READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY BEFORE PROCEEDING

- Laws and Regulations: Application requires an attestation to having read the applicable <u>laws and regulations</u>.
- Application processing and documentation: Applicant is responsible for notifying the source of the required documents to submit information directly to the board office by email, fax or postal mail. An optional form for licensure verification is available, if needed. Please allow 21 business days from initial mailing for board staff to receive and process an application. An initial email will be forwarded that provides notification of receipt and a list of any missing application documentation.
- Application and Fee: An application fee of \$50.00 is required. All fees are nonrefundable.
- **PRAXIS Scores:** Please use Board Code **9347** to have a PRAXIS score released to the Virginia Department of Health Professions' Board of Audiology and Speech Language Pathology.
- National Practitioner Data Bank Query (NPDB): Please request a current <u>digital self-query report</u> from the NPDB. There is a processing fee charged by NPDB for this service. Upon receipt of the digital report, please email report to the board office at <u>audbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u>.
- ➤ Initial License Expiration Dates: A provisional license expires 18 months from the date of issuance and may be renewed for an additional six months.
- Supervision/Supervisors: Specifically review §54.1-2604 of the Code of Virginia and 18VAC30-21-70 (D), (E), & (F) of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. (Note: Supervisors are no longer required to notify the Board of the intent to provide supervision for a provisionally licensed speech-language pathologist.)
- **Board Communication:** The Board's method of communication with applicants is via email.

DOCUMENTATION FOR PROVISIONAL LICENSURE

- Verification of completed degree or coursework:
 - Ocumentation of completion of didactic coursework required for a doctoral degree from a college or university whose program is accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or an equivalent accrediting body. (Note: The board office accepts written documentation on school letterhead directly from the Department Head/Dean verifying completion of all coursework.); OR
 - o Transcript conferring degree from an accredited graduate program in audiology.
- Passing score on qualifying national examination (Note: Applicant is responsible for ensuring a PRAXIS score is released to Virginia. The board office will retrieve the score.)
- Submission of a NPDB <u>digital self-query report</u>.
- <u>License</u> verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (**NOTE**: Staff will obtain license verifications from U.S. jurisdictions that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history. An applicant is responsible for requesting license verifications from jurisdictions that do not have an online verification system. The other jurisdiction is required to send the verification directly to the Board preferably via email at audbd@dhp.virginia.gov.)