

Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233-1463 Email: audbd@dhp.virginia.gov

Phone: (804) 597-4132 **Fax:** (804) 939-5238

Website: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/ASLP/

INSTRUCTIONS/CHECKLIST FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE AS AN AUDIOLOGIST IN VIRGINIA (Includes "Provisional for Re-entry" into Practice)

READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY BEFORE PROCEEDING

- Laws and Regulations: Application requires an attestation to having read the applicable <u>laws and regulations</u>.
- Application processing and documentation: Applicant is responsible for notifying the source of the required documents to submit information directly to the board office by email, fax or postal mail. Optional forms for licensure and employment verification are available. Please allow 21 business days from initial mailing for board staff to receive and process an application. An initial email will be forwarded that provides notification of receipt and a list of any missing application documentation.
- Application and Fee: An application fee of \$135.00 is required. An applicant who holds an expired Virginia license issued by the Board, must apply by reinstatement. All fees are nonrefundable.
- **PRAXIS Scores:** Please use Board Code: **9347** to have a PRAXIS score released to the Virginia Department of Health Professions' Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology.
- National Practitioner Data Bank Query (NPDB): Please request a current <u>digital self-query report</u> from the NPDB. There is a processing fee charged by NPDB for this service. Upon receipt of the digital report, please email report to the board office at <u>audbd@dhp.virginia.gov</u>.
- ➤ Initial License Expiration Dates: Licenses issued prior to January 1 of the current year will expire on June 30 of the following year (example: License issued December 1, 2020, will expire on June 30, 2021). Licenses issued on or after January 1 of the current year will expire on June 30 of the second year (example: License issued January 3, 2021, will expire on June 30, 2022).
- **Board Communication:** The Board's method of communication with applicants is via email.

DOCUMENTATION FOR FULL AUDIOLOGY LICENSURE

INITIAL LICENSURE (New graduate or never held an audiology license in any US jurisdiction)

- Education documentation
 - Current and unrestricted ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence (Note: Board staff will obtain ASHA certificate.); OR
 - Current and unrestricted ABA certification and a passing score on qualifying national examination (Note: Applicant is responsible for ensuring a PRAXIS score is released to Virginia. The board office will retrieve the score.); OR
 - O Documentation of graduation from an audiology program accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation of ASHA or an equivalent accrediting body, as recognized by the Board and a passing score on qualifying national examination (Note: Transcripts may be electronically sent from educational program to audbd@dhp.virginia.gov. Applicant is responsible for ensuring a PRAXIS score is released to Virginia. The board office will retrieve the score.)
- <u>License</u> verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (**NOTE**: Staff will obtain license verifications from U.S. jurisdictions that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history. An applicant is responsible for requesting license verifications from jurisdictions that do

Revised: 03/2023



Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233-1463 Email: audbd@dhp.virginia.gov

Phone: (804) 597-4132 **Fax:** (804) 939-5238

Website: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/ASLP/

not have an online verification system. The other jurisdiction is required to send the verification directly to the Board preferably via email at audbd@dhp.virginia.gov.)

• Submission of NPDB digital self-query report.

AUDIOLOGY LICENSE BY ENDORSEMENT (Held a license in another US jurisdiction at any time)

- Evidence of Continuing Education Completion
 - Ten continuing education hours for each year the application has been licensed in the other jurisdiction, not to exceed 30 hours and passage of the qualifying examination the accrediting body recognized by the Board (Note: Applicant is responsible for ensuring a PRAXIS score is released to Virginia. The board office will retrieve the score.); OR
 - Current and unrestricted ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competence (Note: Board staff will obtain ASHA certificate.); OR
 - Current and unrestricted ABA certification and a passing score on qualifying national examination.
 (Note: Applicant is responsible for ensuring a PRAXIS score is released to Virginia. The board office will retrieve the score.)
- <u>License</u> verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (**NOTE**: Staff will obtain license verifications from U.S. jurisdictions that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history. An applicant is responsible for requesting license verifications from jurisdictions that do not have an online verification system. The other jurisdiction is required to send the verification directly to the Board preferably via email at audbd@dhp.virginia.gov.)
- Documentation of active practice for at least one of the past three consecutive years preceding date of application.
 - o Review Guidance Document <u>30-6</u>, **Board guidance on definition of active practice** for information on active practice.
 - An applicant who graduated from an accredited audiology program within 24 months immediately preceding application is not required to submit evidence of active practice if the applicant holds a current and unrestricted
 - Certificate of Clinical Competence issued by ASHA; OR
 - ABA certification.
 - Employment may be verified on the Board's optional <u>Employment Verification Form</u>, company letterhead or tax returns (1040) reflecting occupation.
 - o If no active practice, board may issue a provisional license to practice in accordance with <u>18VAC30-21-70</u> for six months and submission of a recommendation for licensure from supervisor.
- Submission of NPDB digital self-query report.