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APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS
INITIAL REGISTRATION OF RESIDENCY
SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGIST

This application is for individuals who have completed the educational requirements in 18VAC125-20-56 and who need to start
their supervised experience toward licensure.

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Follow these steps to apply for Initial Registration of Residency:

1.

Read the Laws and Regulations regarding the Practice of Psychology in Virginia and utilize the detailed information in
the School Psychology and School Psychology-Limited Licensure Process Handbook for detailed information about the
required documents and process to obtain a license.

Gather and Request ALL the necessary documents in the checklist BEFORE beginning the online application. Have
copies of the required documents ready to upload as part of the online application process. PDF format is preferred.

Apply Online by registering for an account or logging into your existing account.
o Select the license type of: “Resident in School Psychology” and the Obtained by Method of “Application”.
o Complete the required fields.

Upload the necessary documentation within the online application portal.
o Ensure you have uploaded all the necessary documents as indicated by the checklist. A complete application
provides the best opportunity to avoid delays in the review and approval process.
o Once you have paid the application fee, you application will be submitted, and you can no longer upload
additional documents. Any documents you did not upload will need to be emailed to the Board and will delay
the review of your application.

Pay the application fee within the online application portal.
o Application fees are non-refundable.
o The application fee for initial registration of residency is $50.00.
o Your application is not submitted until the fee is paid.

Wait for Board review of your application and reply to any correspondence from the Board.

o Applications that are complete, fully documented and meet the minimum requirements for the Regulations
Governing the Practice of Psychology will be reviewed within 30 days of receipt of a complete application.

o Incomplete applications remain active for one year from the date of payment, after which incomplete application
files are destroyed as outlined in the Library of Virginia records retention and disposition schedules. If your
application is not completed in the one-year timeframe, you are required to re-apply by submitting a new
application, fee, and documentation pursuant to the regulations at that time.

o Your online checklist will be your primary source of application status.

o As documentation is receive and reviewed, your checklist will be updated, and an automated email will be sent
to you 24 hours later.
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RULES AND GUIDELINES

e Virginia law states that a person who has neither passed the examination nor been issued a license as a School
Psychologist, even if they have completed the necessary number of supervised residency hours, must not engage in
the provision of School Psychology services except as a Board approved “Resident in School Psychology”. The only
exception is providing School Psychology services in an exempt setting. See, Law 54.1-3601 for exemptions.

¢ Please notify the Board in writing within 30 days of a name change or address change by completing the Name/Address
Change Form.

e Providing false or misleading information as well as omitting information in response to information requested in the
application or as part of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for
denial of or taking disciplinary action against an existing registration, certification, or license.

e Pursuantto Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.02 addresses of residents are made available to the public. Normally, the Address
of Record is the publicly disclosed address. If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, you may
provide a second, publicly disclosable address (e.g. work or practice address). If you would like your Address of Record
to be publicly available, please complete both sections with same address on the application.

e Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (A), you are required to submit your social security number, or your control number
issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles*. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be
suspended, and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for
identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided for by law. Federal and state law requires
that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. No license will be issued to
any individual who has failed to disclose one of these numbers.
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INITIAL APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Check REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION SUBMIT BY ‘
Required 1. OFFICIAL SCHOOL TRANSCRIPT
Request that copies of your official college transcripts be mailed or emailed directly to the E-MAIL or
Board from your school. MAIL

e The transcripts must show that you graduated with a minimum of a master’s degree in
school psychology from a regionally accredited university with a school psychology
program from an American Psychological Association (APA), Council for the
Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP), National Association of School
Psychologists (NASP), or equivalent accredited program. The transcript must contain
your conferred date.

e |tis encouraged that transcripts be electronically sent directly to the Board at
psy@dhp.virginia.gov via a secured electronic transcript service used by the school
(for example: eScript or Parchment).

e If your school is unable to send your transcripts electronically, the official transcripts
can be mailed to the Board.

e Photocopied transcripts will not be accepted.

Required 2. INTERNSHIP VERIFICATION FORM

Have your Training Director complete the Internship Verification for School Psychological ONLINE
License form to verify you have successfully completed an internship.

¢ Internship must have been in a program that is either accredited by APA or CAEP, or is
approved by NASP, or is a member of APPIC, or one that meets equivalent standards.

e If your internship was not accredited by one of the above organizations, you will be
required to submit a copy of your internship handbook or brochure demonstrating
equivalency.

Required 3. SUPERVISORY CONTRACT

ONLINE

Submit a copy of the signed contract between you and your supervisor outlining the
expectations and responsibilities during your residency. A sample supervisory contract to use
as a template is available on the Board’s website.

If Applicable 4. AREAS OF GRADUATE STUDY FORM

If your degree is not from an APA, CAEP, or NASP regionally accredited university, you must ONLINE
submit an Area of Graduate Study for School Psychologist Verification of Required Coursework
form with your application. A course cannot be used to satisfy more than one required course
content area. In addition to this form, you must submit a copy of each course syllabus.

If Applicable 5. PROOF OF NAME CHANGE

You must provide documentation if your name has ever been legally changed from the time you ONLINE
attended school or were licensed, certified, or registered in another jurisdiction or is other than
what is listed on your application. Acceptable forms of documentation are copies of a marriage
certificate, court order, or divorce decree.

If Applicable 6. CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS, PAST ACTIONS or POSSIBLE IMPAIRMENTS

If you answer “YES” to any of the questions on the criminal convictions, past actions, or possible ONLINE
impairment questions on the application, you must include a detailed explanation and supporting
documentation. Please refer to Guidance Document 125-2, for a list of required documentation
and further information. All applications are reviewed on a case-by-case basis.

END OF INSTRUCTIONS. PROCEED TO THE ONLINE APPLICATION.

Rev. 04/2025 Initial Registration of Residency Application - School 3


https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/forms/School/Verification_Internship_School.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/forms/School/Verification_Internship_School.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/forms/School/Resident_SchoolPsych_SupervisorContract.docx
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/forms/School/Area_GradStudy_SchoolPsych.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/forms/School/Area_GradStudy_SchoolPsych.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Psychology/psychology_guidelines.htm
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Login.aspx

	Check Box1: Off
	Check Box2: Off
	Check Box3: Off
	Check Box4: Off
	Check Box5: Off
	Check Box6: Off


