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Perimeter Center 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Henrico, VA 23233-1463 

Email: psy@dhp.virginia.gov 
Phone: (804) 367-4697 E-Fax: (804) 767-3626 
www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Psychology/    

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
ADD/CHANGE TO REGISTRATION OF RESIDENCY 

CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGIST 

This application is for individuals who previously received approval from the Board of Psychology for a residency in clinical 
psychology but need to change or add a supervisor.  

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

Follow these steps to apply for a Registration of Residency Add or Change:  

1. Read the Laws and Regulations regarding the Practice of Psychology in Virginia and utilize the detailed information in
the Clinical Psychology Licensure Process Handbook for detailed information about the required documents and process
to obtain a license.

2. Gather and Request ALL the necessary documents in the checklist BEFORE beginning the online application.  Have
copies of the required documents ready to upload as part of the online application process.  PDF format is preferred.

3. Apply Online by registering for an account or logging into your existing account.
o Select the license type of: “Resident in Clinical Psychology” and the Obtained by Method of “Application”.
o Complete the required fields.

4. Upload the necessary documentation within the online application portal.
o Ensure you have uploaded all the necessary documents as indicated by the checklist.  A complete application

provides the best opportunity to avoid delays in the review and approval process.
o Once you have paid the application fee, you application will be submitted, and you can no longer upload

additional documents.  Any documents you did not upload will need to be emailed to the Board and will delay
the review of your application.

5. Pay the application fee within the online application portal.
o Application fees are non-refundable.
o The application fee for an addition or change to residency is $25.00.
o Your application is not submitted until the fee is paid.

6. Wait for Board review of your application and reply to any correspondence from the Board.
o Applications that are complete, fully documented and meet the minimum requirements for the Regulations

Governing the Practice of Psychology will be reviewed within 30 days of receipt of a complete application.
o Incomplete applications remain active for one year from the date of payment, after which incomplete application

files are destroyed as outlined in the Library of Virginia records retention and disposition schedules.  If your
application is not completed in the one-year timeframe, you are required to re-apply by submitting a new
application, fee, and documentation pursuant to the regulations at that time.

o Your online checklist will be your primary source of application status.
o As documentation is receive and reviewed, your checklist will be updated, and an automated email will be sent

to you 24 hours later.

mailto:psy@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Psychology/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/leg/Chapter36Psychology.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/leg/Psychology.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/forms/handbooks/ClinicalPsychologist_Handbook.pdf
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Psychology/PractitionerResources/LawsRegulations/
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Psychology/PractitionerResources/LawsRegulations/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Psychology/ApplicantResources/ApplicationStatus/
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RULES AND GUIDELINES  
 

• Virginia law states that a person who has neither passed the examination nor been issued a license as a Clinical 
Psychologist, even if they have completed the necessary number of supervised practicum or residency hours, must not 
engage in the provision of Clinical Psychology services except as a Board approved “Resident in Clinical Psychology”.  
The only exception is providing Clinical Psychology services in an exempt setting.  See, Law 54.1-3601 for exemptions.   

• Please notify the Board in writing within 30 days of a name change or address change by completing the Name/Address 
Change Form. 

• Providing false or misleading information as well as omitting information in response to information requested in the 
application or as part of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for 
denial of or taking disciplinary action against an existing registration, certification, or license. 

• Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.02 addresses of residents are made available to the public. Normally, the Address 
of Record is the publicly disclosed address. If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, you may 
provide a second, publicly disclosable address (e.g. work or practice address). If you would like your Address of Record 
to be publicly available, please complete both sections with same address on the application. 

• Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (A), you are required to submit your social security number, or your control number 
issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles*. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be 
suspended, and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for 
identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided for by law. Federal and state law requires 
that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. No license will be issued to 
any individual who has failed to disclose one of these numbers.   
 

 
 
 

 

 
ADD/CHANGE APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

 
Check REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION SUBMIT BY 

Required 1. SUPERVISORY CONTRACT  
 Submit a copy of the signed contract between you and your supervisor outlining the 

expectations and responsibilities during your residency.  A sample supervisory contract to use 
as a template is available on the Board’s website.   

ONLINE 

If Applicable 2. PROOF OF NAME CHANGE  

 You must provide documentation if your name has ever been legally changed from the time you 
attended school or were licensed, certified, or registered in another jurisdiction or is other than 
what is listed on your application.   Acceptable forms of documentation are copies of a marriage 
certificate, court order, or divorce decree.   

ONLINE 

If Applicable 3. CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS, PAST ACTIONS or POSSIBLE IMPAIRMENTS  

 If you answer “YES” to any of the questions on the criminal convictions, past actions, or possible 
impairment questions on the application, you must include a detailed explanation and supporting 
documentation.  Please refer to Guidance Document 125-2, for a list of required documentation 
and further information.  All applications are reviewed on a case-by-case basis.   

ONLINE 

 

 

END OF INSTRUCTIONS.  PROCEED TO THE ONLINE APPLICATION. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter36/section54.1-3601/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/forms/NameAddressChangeForm.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/forms/NameAddressChangeForm.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/psych/forms/psychologist/Resident_ClinicalPsych_SupervisorContract.docx
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Psychology/psychology_guidelines.htm
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Login.aspx
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