

9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300 Henrico, Virginia 23233 (804) 367-4515

email: appsupportdocs@dhp.virginia.gov

www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing

CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION (Lapsed or Expired)

Pursuant to Virginia nursing regulation 18 VAC 90-19-190 a Nurse whose license has lapsed for more than one (1) renewal period shall apply for license reinstatement. However, if your license is not active because of a suspension or revocation you must file a Reinstatement Application After Discipline (Suspension or Revocation). If you had a Virginia RN or LPN license and have a Board Order for suspension stayed with entry into HPMP, you must file this Reinstatement Application.

Note: If your primary state of residence is Virginia or a non-compact state, and your Virginia license has been expired for more than two years, you may apply in Virginia for reinstatement. If your license has been expired for less than 2 years contact the Board nursebddhp.virginia.gov for instructions on how to reactivate your license – do not file a reinstatement application.

Virginia is a compact state under the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). Under the NLC, to receive and/or maintain an RN/LPN license with multi-state privilege(s), an applicant must meet <u>all Uniform Licensure Requirements</u> in accordance with <u>Virginia Code § 54.1- 3040.3 C</u>. If you do <u>not</u> meet all **Uniform Licensure Requirements** (ULRs) OR reside in a 'non-compact' state, you may be eligible for a single-state license authorizing practice <u>only</u> in Virginia. **For more information on the NLC go to:** https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm

license authorizing practice only in Virginia. For more information on the NLC go to: https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm	
REQUIREMENTS BELOW – COMPLETE Applicable Steps Below:	
	Submit Reinstatement Application and required Fee: Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted payment. Fees are non-refundable.
	<u>Complete fingerprint-based criminal history background check</u> required by <u>Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1</u> - Register for fingerprinting exclusively through <u>Fieldprint Va.</u>
	 Online applicants will receive an application confirmation receipt that contains a VBON Fieldprint Code required to register for fingerprinting. *Online applicants will also see their Fieldprint Code at the top of the checklist instructions page.
	 If you apply by mail, you must contact the <u>VBON CBC unit</u> for your <i>Fieldprint Code</i> that is required to register for fingerprinting. More information for initiating the CBC may be found at <u>VBON CBC Info</u>.
	Complete continued competency requirements (unless requesting waiver – see NOTE): Provide evidence of completing at least one (1) of the learning activities or courses specified in 18 VAC 90-19-160 during the two (2) years immediately preceding application for reinstatement. Applicable regulation regarding supporting documentation for compliance should be reviewed at: 18 VAC 90-19-170 .
	30 contact hours required <u>without</u> active practice <u>OR</u>
	15 contact hours required with a minimum of 640 hours of active practice.
	Provide proof of Virginia residency (Driver's License, Voter Registration Card, or DD Form 2058 – Military Only) if you are requesting Multi-State Privilege.
NOTE: The Board may waive all or part of the continued competency requirement(s) for a nurse who holds a <u>current</u> , <u>unrestricted</u> license in another state AND who has engaged in <u>active practice</u> during the period the Virginia license was lapsed.	
Evidence must be provided to request that the VBON waive the continued competency requirements which includes: • license verification only for non-NURSYS participating states.	

letter from employer(s) on official letterhead including name of facility verifying: [your] name/position/total work hours.

Additional Information:

- Application supporting documents may be uploaded if indicated OR emailed to appsupportdocs@dhp.virginia.gov
 - Subject line of email must be: 'Reinstatement applicant #
- Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at VBON Nursing Laws & Regulations.
- VBON may request additional evidence that the nurse is prepared to resume practice in a safe, competent manner.
- Documents submitted with the application are property of the Board and cannot be returned.

READ THIS INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST BEFORE SUBMITTING APPLICATION

Page 1/1 Revised 2/1/2025