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CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS

EXAMINATION APPLICATION Check One: [ |RN$190 [ ]LPN $170

» COMPACT INFORMATION:
Virginia is a Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) participating state. In order to receive a license with multi-state privilege(s), an applicant must
meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements (ULRs) in accordance with Virginia Code § 54.1- 3040.3 C. If you do not meet all ULRs OR reside
in a ‘non-compact’ state, you may be eligible for a single-state license authorizing practice only in Virginia. For current information on the
NLC go to: https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm.

If your Primary State of Residence (PSOR) is a compact state, you must apply for licensure in your PSOR (home state). PSOR is defined
by the NLC as: the state of a person’s declared fixed permanent and principal home or domicile for legal purposes. If your PSOR is Virginia
or a non-compact state, you must obtain a Virginia license to practice as a nurse in Virginia. Please indicate on the application your
primary state of residence.

Registered Nurse applicants must have completed a minimum of 500 direct client care hours across the lifespan and
Licensed Practical Nurse applicants must have completed a minimum of 400 direct client care hours across the lifespan.

REQUIREMENTS BELOW - Check COMPLETED applicable items included with your application:

Completed Application to VBON and required Fee: acceptable fees include payment by credit/debit card (online
D applicants only); or if required to apply by mail, include check or money order made payable to Treasurer of Virginia.
Your application will not be reviewed until you have submitted payment and fees are non-refundable.

Complete fingerprint-based Criminal Background Check (CBC): required by Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1: Register
D for fingerprinting exclusively through Fieldprint Va. You may not register for fingerprinting until you submit an
application to the Board.

Online applicants will receive an application confirmation receipt that contains a VBON Fieldprint Code required to
register for fingerprinting. *Online applicants will also see their Fieldprint Code at the top of the checklist instructions
page. More information for initiating the CBC may be found at VBON CBC Info.

Official Attestation of Graduation (Attestation) or Final Transcript: \/irginia Nursing programs only may submit
D an Attestation letter (Attestation) directly to the Virginia Board of Nursing that confirms program completion, in lieu of
individual transcripts. Confirm with your nursing program director if your program sends Attestations.

If your program sends Attestations, do NOT request a transcript.

D Graduates of nursing schools located in other states/US Territories - Verification of Clinical Hours: If you
attended a nursing program outside of Virginia, your FINAL official transcript must include evidence of the actual
(direct client care) clinical hours broken down for each course.

D Complete a Separate Application with Pearson Vue to take the NCLEX Exam by registering online at:
www.pearsonvue.com/nclex or by phone at 1-866-496-2539. Register with Pearson Vue immediately AFTER
submitting your application to the VBON or your Authorization to Test (ATT) issued by Pearson may be delayed.

INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST MUST BE INCLUDED WITH PAPER APPLICATION



http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/
https://www.ncsbn.org/eNLC-ULRs_082917.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3040.3/
https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm
file://WCS01953/Nursing/Licensing/Criminal%20Background%20Checks/Virginia%20Code/Va%20Code%20Section%2054.1-3005.1.pdf
http://fieldprintvirginia.com/
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/ApplicantResources/CriminalBackgroundChecks/
http://www.pearsonvue.com/nclex

Licensure by Examination (RN/LPN): Application Instructions Continued

-OR IF APPLICABLE-

o Submit credential evaluation: Exam licensure applicants educated in a foreign country (does not apply to a
D US Territory such as Puerto Rico*) must submit a credential evaluation by a Board approved credential
agency. For more information, go to VBON International Applicant Resources

e For endorsement applicants only: the Board accepts a CGFNS CES report, ICHP Visa Screen or CGFNS
Certificate and a Josef Silny & Associates professional credential evaluation report or VISA4Nurses.

e (Go to CGFNS International, Inc. or Josef Silny & Assoc VA Application for more information.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REQUIREMENTS

e EITHER a FINAL official transcript OR an Attestation (if applicable) must be received directly from the school of nursing
before you can be declared eligible to take the NCLEX and may be mailed or emailed to:transcriptbyexam@dhp.virginia.gov.

Note: Information emailed to the Virginia Board of Nursing will only be accepted directly from the nursing program and must
include in the subject line of the email: Applicant’s Name: Official Transcript; OR (if applicable) Attestation Letter.

¢ Nursing Program Graduates Outside of Virginia: Evidence of actual clinical hours broken down for each course must be
on official school letterhead and must be submitted with your FINAL official transcript. *Applicants educated in a US
Territory only should request that their school also include evidence of the language of the program instruction and
textbooks. If the language of program instruction/textbooks was not in English, an English Proficiency score report from an
approved test center is required. English Proficiency test center information may be obtained at: www.toeflgoanywhere.org,
www.ets.org or www.ielts.org .

e Requesting Accommodations: If you are requesting accommodations for testing, see Guidance Document 90-22 for
required documentation. Requests with supporting documents may be emailed to nursebd@dhp.virginia.gov and must
include in the subject line of the email: First/Last Name — Nursing Exam Applicant Request Accommodation

e  Court Documents: Must be mailed or emailed directly to the DHP CBC unit at: VDHPCBCUnit@dhp.virginia.gov

o ONLY if requested by Board staff: Submit acceptable proof of Primary State of Residence (PSOR): includes copy of
current (VA) driver’s license, voter’s registration card or military form #2058 (active duty military personnel only).

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

e License application processing times are approximately 30 business days to complete (e.g. starts from the date the
application fee posts on checklist until licensure).

e Periodically log into your DHP license application portal: https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Login.aspx to monitor
progress of your application and remember “unchecked” items may have been received but are pending review.

o Check your license status: License Lookup (*license information is posted in real time).

e Applications will be retained on file for one (1) year and if not completed within one year, a new application/fee is required.

e VBON laws and regulations: http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/LawsRequlations/.

o After testing, access your unofficial exam results, by going to Quick Results.

INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST MUST BE INCLUDED WITH PAPER APPLICATION

End of Instructions Revised: 7/1/2023


http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/ApplicantResources/International%20Applicants
https://www.cgfns.org/licensure/virginia/
https://www.jsilny.org/pdf/nursing.pdf
mailto:transcriptbyexam@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.toeflgoanywhere.org/
http://www.ets.org/
http://www.ielts.org/
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/nursing/guidance/90-22.pdf
mailto:nursebd@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:VDHPCBCUnit@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Login.aspx
https://dhp.virginiainteractive.org/Lookup/Index
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/LawsRegulations/
https://www.ncsbn.org/1225.htm

