
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

Department of Health Professions  

 Board of Nursing 

Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA 23233-1463 

     (804)367-4515 – PHONE                                                                                   web:  www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing    
 

CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION (RN & LPN) 

Fees:  RN $190       LPN $170 
 

 COMPACT INFORMATION: 
Virginia is a compact state under the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). If your Primary State of Residence (PSOR) is a compact 

state, you must apply for licensure in your PSOR (home state).  Primary state of residence (PSOR) is defined by the NLC as: the state 

of a person’s declared fixed permanent and principal home or domicile for legal purposes.  If your PSOR is Virginia or a non-

compact state you must obtain a Virginia license to practice as a nurse in Virginia. Please indicate on the application your primary 

state of residence. For a current list of states in the NLC and NURSYS participating states go to: 

www.nursys.com/NLV/NLVJurisdictions.aspx.  

 

Under Virginia nursing regulation 18 VAC 90-20-181: 

 If your license is unrestricted in your prior home state or your PSOR is Virginia, you will be granted a multi-state 

privilege (MSP) which allows you to practice in other compact states.  

 If you currently have a compact (MSP) license and are permanently relocating to Virginia, you may continue to 

practice under your former home state license during the processing of your application for a period not to exceed 

ninety (90) days. Once a new (Virginia) multistate license is issued, the former license will be inactivated 

(expired). You must notify the BON in the former residency state that you have moved out of state.  

 A licensure application shall be held in abeyance in accordance with the compact regulations when a license is under 

investigation in another compact state. 

 

 REQUIREMENTS are listed below to submit an application for Endorsement. Please check applicable items that are 

submitted with your application: 

 

 Completed application and required fee: acceptable fees include payment by credit/debit card (online 

applicants only); or if required to apply by mail, include check or money order made payable to 

Treasurer of Virginia. Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted 

payment and fees are non-refundable. 

 

 Completed criminal history background check required by Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1: Online 

applicants will receive an application confirmation receipt which contains a VBON Fieldprint Code 

required to register for fingerprinting exclusively through Fieldprint Va. *Online applicants will also see 

their Fieldprint Code at the top of the checklist instructions page.  *If you apply by mail, you must 

contact the VBON CBC unit for your Fieldprint Code that is required to register for fingerprinting. More 

information for initiating the CBC may be found at VBON CBC Info. 

 

 License Verification Requested/Completed: 

 NURSYS: if your original state of licensure participates in the NURSYS license verification system, go to 

https://www.nursys.com/NLV/NLVTerms.aspx to request the verification of licensure ($30 fee). 

 License verification form (only for non-NURSYS participating states): Complete only the top portion of 

the license verification form and send it to the board of nursing where you were originally licensed by 

examination. Completed verifications will only be kept on file for 90 days and must be resubmitted if 

application is received after 90 day period. 

 

 Verification of Clinical Hours Form completed by Nursing Employer(s): Required only if you 

graduated from nursing program with less than 500 clinical hours (RN) or 400 clinical hours (LPN): Must include 

evidence of 960 hours of clinical practice and an active unencumbered license in another US jurisdiction.    
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CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION (Continued) 

 

 Foreign Education: licensure applicants previously licensed in another U.S. jurisdiction but educated in a 

foreign country (except Canada) must provide their identification/certificate number issued by the Commission 

on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS); click here for more information: CGFNS.  For endorsement 

applicants only: the Board accepts the CES Professional report, ICHP Visa Screen or CGFNS certificate. For 

more information on VBON requirements, click on these regulation(s): 18 VAC 90-20-200 and 18 VAC 90-20-

210.  

 

 Supporting Documents:  

 Name Change: If your name on the application for Virginia license is different from the name on file with your 

original board of nursing, a copy of your marriage certificate, naturalization certificate or the court order 

authorizing the change. 

 
 Request 30 day Authorization to Practice Letter (ATP): if you intend to work in Virginia pending licensure and 

are licensed in a non-compact state, you may submit a written request for a letter from the Board for 
authorization to practice for 30 days.  License applications that do not indicate conviction or discipline history 
will be eligible for an ATP. 

 
o Authorization to Practice letters are initially effective for 30 days, so please wait to request a letter 

until at least three (3) weeks from the date your application was received by VBON*.  (*Your 
online ‘checklist’ reflects the date your application and fee was received). 

o Request may be emailed to appsupportdocs@dhp.virginia.gov and include in the email subject line: 
Endorsement Applicant: Request 30 day letter along with copies of: (1) NURSYS license verification 
receipt and/or your current license (only for non-NURSYS participating states) and (2) Fieldprint 
(fingerprinting) appointment confirmation receipt. 

o Authorization to Practice letters will be sent by email within 7-10 business days from receipt of the 
request to appsupportdocs@dhp.virginia.gov.  

 

 Additional Important Information: 

 License application processing times are between 30-45 business days to complete. 

 

 Periodically log into your DHP license application portal: https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Login.aspx to 

monitor progress of your application and remember “unchecked” items may have been received but are pending 

review. 

 

 Documents submitted with the application are property of the Board and cannot be returned. 

 

 An incomplete application for licensure will be retained on file only as required for audit.  If not completed within 

one year, a new application may be necessary. 

 

 Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing.  

 

 

 
 

 

End of instructions. 
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

Department of Health Professions - Board of Nursing 

Perimeter Center 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA 23233-1463 
(804)367-4515 – PHONE        (804) 527-4455 – FAX 

web:  www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing                          email:  appsupportdocs@dhp.virginia.gov  

LICENSE VERIFICATION FORM – NON-NURSYS PARTICIPATING STATES 

APPLICANT: Complete the top portion only and send to the Board of Nursing in the state where you were originally licensed by 

exam.  If your state participates in the Nursys License Verfication System go to https://www.nursys.com/NLV/NLVTerms.aspx to 

request your verification. 

Name:             Last                         First                         Middle              

 

                 

Social Security Number: 

 

Address 

 

RN License No.: LPN License No: Year Issued: 

Name on Original License: 

 

TO THE BOARD OF NURSING: Please provide the information requested and return the form to the Virginia Board of Nursing 

APPLICANT’S FULL NAME: 

Last: First : Middle: Maiden: 

 

Was school approved at time applicant graduated:  

Yes     No  

Graduation date/year:   

 

REGISTERED NURSE (RN) 

 

School:______________________________________________                         

Location:____________________________________________ 

Type of Program: AD  BS  DIP  MSN                                         

Program in English: Yes      No  

NCLEX #:_________  NCLEX Score:_____________ 

CRNE:____________ OTHER:___________________ 

SBTP Series #:_______                                              Scores: 

 

Medical Nursing:    ________________                                                 

Surgical Nursing:    ________________ 

Obstetric Nursing:   ________________ 

Psychiatric Nursing:________________ 

Pediatric Nursing:    ________________                                                        

 

LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSE (LPN) 

 

School:_____________________________________________ 

Location:___________________________________________ 

Licensed on basis of:  

Graduation  from school of practical nursing:  

Equivalence provision of  law:  

Waiver provision of law:  

 

SBTP Series #:____________ 

NCLEX #:________________ 

OTHER:_________________ 

SCORE:_________________ 

  

 

LICENSE  NUMBER ___________________ was granted on ____________________ by: Examination  Endorsement  Waiver 

  Status of license:  Current   Lapsed    Inactive  

Has license ever been suspended, revoked or otherwise disciplined?  Yes      No .   If yes, please attach certified copy of any order 

issued by the Board. 

I certify the above information to be true in every respect, according to the record on file with the _________________ State Board of 

Nursing. 

____________________________          _______________________________________________ 

                        Date                                                                     Executive Director 

 

Revised: 7/30/16 
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Verification of Clinical Practice 

Licensure by Endorsement 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 Complete this form only if your nursing education program did not include 500 clinical hours. 
  

The Virginia Board of Nursing allows applicants who graduated from registered nursing education programs that did not 

include a minimum of 500 hours of direct client care supervised by qualified faculty to be licensed by endorsement 

provided the applicant holds a current, unrestricted license in another U. S. jurisdiction and can provide evidence of at least 

960 hours of clinical practice – OR - if the pre-licensure practical nursing education program from which you graduated 

did not include 400 clinical hours, please provide evidence of 960 hours of clinical practice and an active unencumbered 

license in another US jurisdiction.  This written documentation should be provided directly from your Nursing employers 

and should include the capacity in which you were employed as well as the dates of employment and hours worked.  This 

form should be completed by each nursing employer. 

 

I hereby authorize all employers (past and present) to release to the Virginia Board of Nursing any information necessary to 

verify hours of clinical practice.  

 
                        Signature of Applicant _________________________________ 

 

       Social Security# or DMV#: ______________________________ 

 

Please print or type name, address, city and state, of employment setting:          

Employer/Facility Name:   

Address:   

City/State:   

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

SECTION BELOW TO BE COMPLETED BY EMPLOYER: 

 
       Date and type of employment:   

 

      This individual was employed in clinical practice with us as a: _______________________________________        

          (RN or LPN) 

from _____________________ to ________________ .                                       
             (Month/Year)                           (Month/Year)                        

 

Please estimate the number of hours of clinical practice worked during that period of employment:  

______________                                                                                            

 

Signed by: _______________________________________      Date: _______________________________ 

 

Print or type name: _____________________________________________ 

       

Title: ________________________________________________________ 

 

(This report will become a part of the applicant’s file and may be reviewed by the applicant upon request.)  
Revised 6/30/16 

 

 

 

       Virginia Board of Nursing 
Department of Health Professions 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 

(804)-367-4515 
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