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CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS: APPLICATION – PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY FOR LICENSED NURSE 

PRACTITIONERS 

Licensed Nurse Practitioners may be authorized to prescribe upon application to the Virginia Board of Nursing pursuant to 18 VAC 

90-40-30. Additionally, prescribers are required to have a practice agreement in accordance with Virginia Code § 54.1-

2957.01 and nursing regulation 18 VAC 90-40-90. Nursing regulations regarding prescriptive authority may be found at 

Virginia Nursing Laws and Regulations. 

 Required application supporting documents may be emailed to appsupportdocs@dhp.virginia.gov. 

REQUIRED QUALIFICATIONS 

1. Current unrestricted license as a nurse practitioner in Virginia; AND 

Provide ONE (1) of the following pursuant to 18 VAC 90-40-40 (2): 

1.  Copy of document that verifies current professional certification as a nurse practitioner or nurse-midwife; OR 

2.  Transcript or letter sent to the Board of Nursing office from an educational program verifying satisfactory 

completion of a graduate level course in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics obtained as a part of your nurse 

practitioner or nurse-midwifery education within the past five years; OR 

3.  A statement from a superior or a personal affidavit attesting to no less than 1000 hours of practice in each of the 

last two years and copies of documents verifying 15 hours of continuing education in each of the last two years; 

OR 

4.  Evidence of 30 hours of education in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics taken within the last five years 

which includes: applicable federal and state laws, prescription writing, drug selection, dosage, route and 

interactions, information resources, and clinical application related to your area of practice. This evidence must be 

either an official transcript from the institution offering a formal course or copies of documents verifying non-credit 

continuing education offerings. 

Please indicate on the application the LNP category you wish to use prescriptive authority: 

 Adult/geriatric acute care nurse practitioner (01); 

 Family nurse practitioner (02); 

 Pediatric/primary care nurse practitioner (03); 

 Adult/geriatric primary care nurse practitioner (07); 

 Certified nurse midwife (09); 

 Neonatal nurse practitioner (13);  

 Women's health nurse practitioner (14); 

 Psychiatric nurse/mental health practitioner (17); 

 Pediatric/acute care nurse practitioner (18). 
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