

## 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, Virginia 23233 www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing

Phone (804) 367-4515

# ONLINE CHECKLIST AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR MEDICATION AIDE APPLICATION BY EXAMINATION

To avoid delays in the processing of your APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION AS A MEDICATION AIDE BY EXAMINATION be sure to follow the instructions carefully <u>before</u> submitting your application. It is important to complete all requirements and send in all required supporting documents as listed below.

\*\* If you have ever been registered or certified in another U.S. jurisdiction or state with requirements equivalent to those stated in 18VAC90-60-10 of the Regulations Governing the Registration of Medication Aides in Virginia, you should be completing an application to apply by endorsement. (Please visit our website at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing/nursing\_laws\_regs.htm for a copy of the Laws Governing Nursing and the Virginia Regulations Governing the Registration of Medication Aides).

### LISTED BELOW ARE THE REQUIREMENTS TO SUBMIT AN APPLICATION BY EXAMINIATION

<u>FEE</u> – The fee for application by examination is \$50.00. Online payments can be made by Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover card. All fees are non-refundable.
<u>EDUCATION</u> – Submit a certificate of completion for a board approved medication aide training program, to also include a 5-page performance record. The medication aide training program must have been completed <b>within the past two years.</b> If your program was completed more than two years ago, you must re-enroll and repeat the 68-hour program before your application will be considered <b>OR</b> submit a complete transcript from a board approved RN or LPN program, to include the date of graduation.
☐ A board approved 68-hour medication training program <b>AND</b> performance record, or ☐ A board approved nursing RN or LPN program.
<u>ADDITIONAL TRAINING REQUIREMENT</u> – Submit a certificate of completion for <b>one</b> of the following additional education requirements:
☐ A 40-hour staff training program in direct client or personal care approved by DSS, or ☐ A board approved nurse aide education program.
SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS (IF APPLICABLE) —  Detailed explanation of conviction(s) — Detailed explanation should describe the circumstances that caused each conviction; what happened, when it happened, why it happened, and what you have done or are doing to ensure these incidents will not happen again. To avoid delays this information should be included with the application.
Certified Court Order(s) – To avoid delays, contact the court(s) and request a certified copy of the conviction record(s) from the appropriate court clerk's office (either the arrest warrant with the back filled out by the judge (misdemeanor) or the final Sentencing Order if it were a felony for conviction. If the Sentencing Agreement makes mention of a pre-hearing or probationary report, that report must also be included. Certified documents must be emailed/mailed to the Virginia Board of Nursing, Attention Medication Aide. Photocopied or faxed court orders are not accepted. If court records are no longer available, contact the court(s) and request a certified statement that your records are no longer available. Certified statement must be emailed/mailed to the Virginia Board of Nursing.

☐ Proof all court ordered requirements have been met (for example: payment of fines/fees/restitutions/status of an approved payment plan, completion of community service, completion of any treatment programs, and status of probation).
Name Change Document – If any of your documentation or supporting documentation (i.e. certificates, supporting documents, court documents) are in a different name from the name provided on your application, include a copy of the legal document that changed your name to the Virginia Board of Nursing, Attention Medication Aide. (Acceptable forms are marriage certificate, divorce decree, certificate of naturalization or court order).

#### GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT THE APPLICATION PROCESS

- 1. It is unlawful to practice as a Registered Medication Aide in Virginia until you have been issued a current Virginia Registration.
- 2. Applications received without the required processing fee will be returned to the sender.
- 3. Faxed or photocopied documents will <u>not</u> be accepted; only original documents will be accepted.
- 4. Applications are processed in the order received and may take 30-45 business days to review/complete from the initial application date. Board staff will contact you if any additional information is needed. Please allow time (30-45 business days) for a thorough review of all your application documentation before contacting the Board, as it may slow down the review process of your application.
- 5. Applications will remain on file with the board for one year from the date of receipt. If, at the end of one (1) year, licensure/certification/registration is not issued, the applicant must reapply in accordance with the requirements of the Regulations.

### COMPLETED APPLICATIONS AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION SHOULD BE EMAILED/MAILED TO:

ATTN: Medication Aide Virginia Board of Nursing 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233

Email: rr-dhpmedicationaide@dhp.virginia.gov