

Therapy.

Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233-1463 Email: massagetherapy@dhp.virginia.gov

Phone: (804) 367-4515

Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing

CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS FOR INITIAL LICENSURE AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST

To avoid delays in the processing of your APPLICATION FOR INITIAL LICENSURE AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST, be sure to follow the instructions carefully before submitting your application. It is important to complete all the requirements and send in all the required supporting documents listed below based on the method by which you are applying. ** If you have ever been licensed or certified in another U.S. jurisdiction with requirements substantially equivalent to those stated in 18VAC90-50-40 of the Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists for Virginia, you should be completing an application to apply by endorsement. (Please visit our website at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/LawsRegulations for a copy of the Laws Governing Nursing and the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists).

✓ REQUIREMENTS are listed below to submit an application for Initial Licensure.
<u>APPLICATION:</u> Applications for Initial Licensure as a Massage Therapy are now exclusively accepted online . To apply, visit the Virginia Board of Nursing website at: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/ApplicantResources/ApplyforLicense/MassageTherapist/ . If you are required to re-apply for Initial Licensure as a Massage Therapist due to a previous application expiring or due to being denied, please contact the Board office for instruction to re-apply.
<u>APPLICATION FEE:</u> \$140.00 application fee by credit/debit card (online applicants only); or if required to re-apply by mail, a check, cashier's check or money order made payable to "Treasurer of Virginia." Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted payment. (<i>Application fees are non-refundable</i>)
COMPLETED CRIMINAL HISTORY BACKGROUND CHECK: Required pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1: Online applicants will receive an application confirmation receipt which contains a VBON Fieldprint Code required to register for fingerprinting exclusively through Fieldprint. Online applicants will also see their Fieldprint Code at the top of the checklist instructions page online. * If required to re-apply by mail, you must contact the VBON CBC unit for your Fieldprint Code that is required to register for fingerprinting. More information about the Criminal Background Check may be found at VBON Criminal Background Check Process.
OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT: An official transcript must be <u>emailed or mailed</u> directly to the Virginia Board of Nursing office <u>directly from the school</u> or, if the school is closed <u>official keeper of record for the school</u> ; to verify you have successfully completed a minimum of 500 hours of training from a massage therapy program, certified or approved by the State Council of Higher Education; or an agency in another state, the District of Columbia or a United States territory that approves educational programs. Official transcript must indicate date of completion. (If the transcript is in a language other than English, a certified translation is required) (**Transcripts not <u>emailed or mailed</u> directly to the Board of Nursing directly from the school, transcripts without valid signatures, transcripts without valid official school embossed seal, transcripts without a cate of completion, and copies of transcripts are not acceptable) **Providing false or misleading information as part of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial.
<u>EXAMINATION RESULTS</u> : Massage & Bodywork Licensing Exam Results (MBLEx) – Official exam results must be sent directly to the Virginia Board of Nursing <u>directly from the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB)</u> . (Please contact the FSMTB at 1 (866) 962-3926 or at <u>mblex@fsmtb.org</u> , so this request can be processed to avoid any delays.)
SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS (if applicable)
Detailed explanation of conviction(s) (detailed explanation should describe the circumstances that caused <u>each</u> conviction; what happened, when it happened, why it happened, and what you have done or are doing to ensure these incidents will not happen again) To avoid delays this information should be included on the application.
Certified Court Order(s)- To avoid delays, contact the court(s) and request a certified copy of the conviction record(s) from the appropriate court clerk's office (either the arrest warrant with the back filled out by the judge (misdemeanor) or the final Sentencing Order if it were a felony for conviction. If the Sentencing Agreement makes mention of a pre-hearing or probationary report, that report must also be included. Certified documents must be emailed or mailed to the Virginia Board of Nursing, Attention Massage

	Virginia Board of Nursing Attn: Massage Therapy Licensure Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233
*	Supporting documentation should be emailed to: massagetherapy@dhp.virginia.gov or mailed to:
*	FOR APPLICANTS EDUCATED IN OTHER COUNTRIES: If your massage therapy education was received in another country and you are <u>not</u> licensed/certified/registered in another state/jurisdiction in the U.S.A., contact this office before filing this application.
*	Providing false or misleading information as well as omitting information in response to information requested in this application or as part of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary action against an existing license.
*	An incomplete application for licensure will be retained on file only as required for audit. If not completed within one year, a new application may be necessary.
*	Documents submitted to the Virginia Board of Nursing are property of the Board and cannot be returned.
*	Laws Governing Nursing and the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists may be obtained at: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/ApplicantResources/ApplyforLicense/MassageTherapist/ .
*	ADDITIONAL INFORMATION Applications are processed in the order received and may take 30-45 working days to review/complete from the initial application date. Please allow time for a thorough review of all your application documentation before contacting the Board, as it may slow down the review process of your application as well as others.
	4. An applicant who fails the licensing examination shall have his provisional licensure withdrawn upon the receipt of the examination results and shall not be eligible for licensure until he passes such examination.
	3. The designation of "massage therapist" or "licensed massage therapist" shall not be used by the applicant during the 90 days of provisional licensure.
	2. A provisional license may be issued for one (1) 90-day period and may not be renewed.
	1. Filed a completed application for licensure in Virginia, including completion of education requirements.
	PROVISIONAL LICENSURE: Provisional licensure is available to an eligible candidate <i>waiting to take the licensing examination</i> , upon written authorization from the Board who has:
	Name Change Document − To avoid delays, if any of your documentation (<i>i.e.</i> , transcript, verification, court documents) is in a different name from the name provided on your application, please email or mail a copy of the legal document that changed your name to the Virginia Board of Nursing, Attention Massage Therapy. (<i>Acceptable forms are marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order</i>)
	☐ Proof all court ordered requirements have been met (for example: payment of fines/fees/restitutions/status of an approved payment plan, completion of community service, completion of any treatment programs, status of probation)
	If court records are no longer available, contact the court(s) and request a certified statement that your records are no longer available. Certified statement must be emailed or mailed to the Virginia Board of Nursing, Attention Massage Therapy.

PLEASE NOTIFY THIS OFFICE WITHIN THIRTY DAYS OF A NAME CHANGE OR ADDRESS CHANGE.

End of instructions