

Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 **Email**: massagetherapy@dhp.virginia.gov

Phone: (804) 367-4515

Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing

CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS

FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST

To avoid delays in the processing of your APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST, be sure to follow the instructions carefully before submitting your application. It is important to complete all the requirements and send in all the required supporting documents listed below based on the method by which you are applying. ** If you have ever been licensed or certified in another U.S. jurisdiction with requirements substantially equivalent to those stated in 18VAC90-50-40 of the Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists for Virginia, you should be completing an application to apply by endorsement. (Please visit our website at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing/nursing laws regs.htm for a copy of the Laws Governing Nursing and the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists).

FJ	,
	✓ REQUIREMENTS are listed below to submit an application for Endorsement:
	<u>APPLICATION:</u> Applications for Endorsement as a Massage Therapy are now exclusively accepted online . To apply, visit the Virginia Board of Nursing website at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/ApplicantResources/ApplyforLicense/MassageTherapist/ . If you are required to re-apply for Licensure as a Massage Therapist due to a previous application expiring or due to being denied, please contact the Board office for instruction to re-apply.
	<u>APPLICATION FEE: \$140.00</u> application fee by credit/debit card (online applicants only). Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted payment. (<i>Application fees are non-refundable</i> .)
	COMPLETED CRIMINAL HISTORY BACKGROUND CHECK: Required pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1: Online applicants will receive an application confirmation receipt which contains a VBON Fieldprint Code required to register for fingerprinting exclusively through Fieldprint Va. Online applicants will also see their Fieldprint Code at the top of the checklist instructions page online. * If required to re-apply by mail, you must contact the VBON CBC unit for your Fieldprint Code that is required to register for fingerprinting. More information regarding the Criminal Background Check may be found at VBON CBC Info.
	OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT: An official transcript must be <u>mailed/emailed directly from the school</u> to the Virginia Board of Nursing office. If the school is closed, an <u>official registrar for the school</u> will be required to verify you have successfully completed a minimum of 500 hours of training from a massage therapy program, certified or approved by the State Council of Higher Education; or an agency in another state, the District of Columbia or a United States territory that approves educational programs. Official transcript must indicate date of completion. (If the transcript is in a language other than English, a certified translation is required). (**Transcripts not <u>mailed/emailed</u> directly to the Board of Nursing from the school, without valid signatures, without valid official school embossed seal, without a date of completion and copies of transcripts are not acceptable) **Providing false or misleading information as part of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial.
	EXAMINATION RESULTS:
	Massage & Bodywork Licensing Exam Results (MBLEx) – Official exam results must be sent directly to the Virginia Board of Nursing directly from the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB). (Please contact the FSMTB at 1 (866) 962-3926 or at mblex@fsmtb.org, so this request can be processed to avoid any delays.)
	-OR-
	National Certification Exam Results (NCETM or NCETMB) – Official exam results must be sent directly to the Virginia Board of Nursing directly from the National Certification board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB). (Please contact the NCBTMB at 1(800) 296-0664 or at info@ncbtmb.org, so this request can be processed to avoid any delays.)
	VERIFICATION: Official verification of licensure/certification/registration is required from <u>each</u> state/jurisdiction in which you have <u>ever</u> been licensed/certified/registered in as a Massage Therapist. (NOTE: Staff will obtain license verifications from U.S. jurisdictions that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history. An applicant is responsible for requesting license verifications from jurisdictions that do not have an online verification system. The other jurisdiction is required to send the verification directly to the Board preferably via email at <u>massagetherapy@dhp.virginia.gov</u> .

	SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS (if applicable)
	Detailed explanation of conviction(s): (detailed explanation should describe the circumstances that caused <u>each</u> conviction; what happened, when it happened, why it happened, and what you have done or are doing to ensure these incidents will not happen again) To avoid delays this information should be included on the application.
	Certified Court Order(s): To avoid delays, contact the court(s) and request a certified copy of the conviction record(s) from the appropriate court clerk's office either the arrest warrant with the back filled out by the judge (misdemeanor) or the final Sentencing Order if it were a felony for conviction. <i>If the Sentencing Agreement makes mention of a pre-hearing or probationary report, that report must also be included.</i> Certified documents must be mailed/emailed to the Virginia Board of Nursing, Attention: Massage Therapy.
	(NOTE: If court records are no longer available, contact the court(s) and request a certified statement that your records are no longer available. The Certified statement must be <u>mailed/emailed</u> to the Virginia Board of Nursing, Attention Massage Therapy.)
	Proof <u>all</u> court ordered requirements have been met (for example: payment of fines/fees/restitutions/status of an approved payment plan, completion of community service, completion of any treatment programs, status of probation)
	Name Change Document − To avoid delays, if any of your documentation (<i>i.e.</i> , transcript, verification, court documents) is in a different name from the name provided on your application, please <u>mail/email</u> a <u>copy</u> of the legal document that changed your name to the Virginia Board of Nursing, Attention Massage Therapy. (<i>Acceptable documents are marriage certificate</i> , <i>divorce decree or court order</i> .)
	ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
*	The Board's preferred method of communication is via email at: <u>massagetherapy@dhp.virginia.gov</u> .
*	Applications are processed in the order received and may take 30-45 working days to review/complete from the initial application date. Please allow time for a thorough review of all your application documentation before contacting the Board, as it may slow down the review process of your application as well as others.
*	Periodically log into your DHP license application portal: https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Login.aspx to monitor progress of your application and remember "unchecked" items may have been received but are pending review.
*	Check your license status by going to: License Lookup (*license information is posted in real time).
*	Laws Governing Nursing and the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists may be obtained at: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing_laws_regs.htm .
*	Documents submitted to the Virginia Board of Nursing are property of the Board and cannot be returned.
*	An incomplete application for licensure will be retained on file only as required for audit. If not completed within one year, a new application may be necessary.
*	Providing false or misleading information as well as omitting information in response to information requested in this application or as part of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary action against an existing license.
*	FOR APPLICANTS EDUCATED IN OTHER COUNTRIES: If your massage therapy education was received in another country and you are <u>not</u> licensed/certified/registered in another state/jurisdiction in the U.S.A., contact this office before filing application.

Supporting documentation may be **emailed** to: massagetherapy@dhp.virginia.gov, or mailed to:

Virginia Board of Nursing Attn: Massage Therapy Licensure Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

Henrico, VA 23233

PLEASE NOTIFY THIS OFFICE WITHIN THIRTY DAYS OF A NAME CHANGE OR ADDRESS CHANGE.

End of instructions