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CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS: APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE – LICENSED CERTIFIED MIDWIFE (LCM) 
Virginia law and regulations require that Licensed Certified Midwives be licensed by the Boards of Nursing and Medicine prior to beginning 
practice in the Commonwealth.  

All initial Licensed Certified Midwife license applicants that meet Virginia requirements for Rx (prescriptive) Authority will be granted one license 
that will include Rx Authority designated on the license issued, as reflected on License Lookup.  For a copy of the Licensed Certified Midwife 
laws/regulations, go to: Virginia Board of Nursing - Laws and Regulations. 

REQUIREMENTS BELOW  - Please ensure that the applicable items are submitted to the VBON 

ALL APPLICANTS MUST PROVIDE THE FOLLOWING: 

☐  

(1) Complete Online Application: An online application may be submitted only if you are applying for an initial LCM 
license in accordance with 18VAC90-70-60 by examination or by endorsement if you have been licensed as a Licensed 
Certified Midwife in another state in accordance with  18VAC90-70-70.   A completed application and required fee must 
be submitted through the online license application portal. 

☐  
(2) Request verification of current certification as a certified midwife issued by the American Midwifery Certification 

Board sent directly from the professional certifying organization to the Board of Nursing office by mail or emailed to: 
lcm@dhp.virginia.gov.  A copy of the card, certificate or email verification from the applicant will NOT be accepted. 

LICENSED CERTIFIED MIDWIFE INITIAL APPLICATION  – (BY EXAMINATION) 

☐   Ensure that an official transcript from an approved graduate degree program in midwifery is sent directly from the 
education institution to the Board of Nursing office by mail or email to lcm@dhp.virginia.gov. 

 LICENSED CERTIFIED MIDWIFE APPLICATION – (BY ENDORSEMENT) 
If currently/previously licensed as a Licensed Certified Midwife - See: 18VAC90-70-70 

☐  

Request verification of licensure as a Licensed Certified Midwife in another U.S. jurisdiction with a license in good 
standing or eligible for reinstatement if lapsed, sent directly from the jurisdiction to the Board of Nursing office by mail or 
email to lcm@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Endorsement Applicants Only: Do not request that your transcripts be sent directly to the Virginia Board of Nursing (VBON) unless 
specifically instructed to do so by VBON staff. 

THIS COMPLETED INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH PAPER APPLICATION 

             
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: 

 Required application supporting documents may be emailed to:   lcm@dhp.virginia.gov  

 If required to file a paper application, may request the application by email to: lcm@dhp.virginia.gov 

 LCMs are required to have a practice agreement in accordance with Virginia Code § 54.1-2957.04 

 License application processing time - 30 business days from the date application is deemed complete by to the Board. 

 Periodically log into your DHP license application portal: https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ to monitor the 
process of your application and remember “unchecked” items may have been received but are pending review.  

 Check your license status on License Lookup (license information is posted in real time).  Once the license is issued, allow 
24-48 hours for your Rx Authority to appear on License Lookup.  


