Virginia Department of Health Professions Board of Nursing 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300 *Perimeter Center* Henrico, Virginia 23233 (804) 367-4515 <u>www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing</u>

## CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS APPLICATION: CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST REGISTRATION

Pursuant to Virginia nursing regulation <u>18 VAC 90-19-210</u> the Board may accept an application for registration as a Clinical Nurse Specialist who meets the required qualifications. Virginia requires a current Virginia RN license or RN license with multistate privilege\* in another compact state in order to file an application to register as a Clinical Nurse Specialist.

<u>Note</u>: \*Virginia is a *compact* state under the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC). If your **primary state of residence** (**PSOR**) is a **compact** state, you <u>must</u> apply for licensure in your PSOR (compact state). If your primary state of residence is Virginia or a non-compact state, and your Virginia license has been <u>expired for more than two years</u>, you may apply in Virginia for reinstatement. Indicate on the application your primary state of residence. For current information on the NLC go to:<u>https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm</u>.

## REQUIREMENTS BELOW - Check applicable COMPLETED items that are included with your application:

**Completed Application and required fee (\$130)**: acceptable fees include payment by credit/debit card (**online** applicants only); or if required to apply by mail, include check or money order made payable to *Treasurer of Virginia*. Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted payment and **fees are non-refundable**.

Current license as a registered nurse in Virginia or a current multistate licensure privilege as a registered nurse: must meet this requirement to be eligible to for a clinical nurse specialist registration.

Current national clinical nurse specialist certification in accordance with Virginia Code § 54.1-3018.1.

## **ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:**

- License application processing times are between 30-45 business days to complete.
- **Periodically log into your DHP license application portal**: <u>https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Login.aspx</u> to monitor progress of your application and remember "unchecked" items may have been received but are **pending** review.
- Check your license/registration status by going to: <u>License Lookup</u> (\*license information is posted in *real time*).
- Documents submitted with the application are property of the Board and cannot be returned.
- An incomplete application for licensure will be retained on file only as required for audit. If not completed within one year, a new application may be necessary.
- Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at <u>www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing</u>.

## THIS COMPLETED INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH PAPER APPLICATION

Revised: 8/7/18