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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AN APPLICATION TO PRACTICE MEDICINE IN
VIRGINIA FOR GRADUATES OF ALLOPATHIC MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN THE UNITED
STATES AND CANADA

(This form has been designed to be used as a checklist when preparing to submit your application.)

APPLICATION FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE
BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING POINTS CAREFULLY!

This is not the application for a training license to practice as a resident or fellow. This
application for a full and unrestricted MD license to practice medicine for a graduate of US
or Canadian allopathic medical schools.

You should familiarize yourself with the qualifications required for a full license by
reviewing the laws and regulations governing the practice of medicine in Virginia. They can
be found at: http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_laws_regs.htm

The Board works as efficiently as possible to process applications. The time from filing an
application with the Board until the issuance of a license is dependent upon entities over
which the Board has no control. It is the applicant’s responsibility to ensure that outside
entities send the necessary documentation to the Board. You should not expect the process
to take less than 3-4 months, so plan accordingly if you are pursuing a practice position in
Virginia.

The Virginia Board of Medicine accepts the verified documentation provided by the
Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVYS), in case you choose to engage FCVS to
help you with your application. http://www.fsmb.org/licensure/fcvs/

The Board provides an electronic checklist for your convenience in tracking your
application. You should allow approximately 30 days for your application checklist to
appear on the Board’s website. Supporting documentation will be added to your checklist as
it is received. Processing of documents may take up to 10 business days after they are
received. If you find your checklist does not exist or does not indicate necessary documents
have been received, e-mail the Board at medicineandsurgeryapplications@dhp.virginia.gov
with “Medicine and Surgery Application Question” in the subject line. E-mails will be
answered within 2 business days.

Your application checklist may be viewed by logging into your application and clicking on
the “View Checklist” link located in the Pending Licenses section. This link will not be
visible for applicants who have not yet paid the application fee. This link will not be visible
once a license has been issued. If you need assistance with your checklist contact the
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agency’s helpdesk at 804-367-4444. The Helpdesk cannot provide assistance regarding
information about your documents.

Supporting documentation sent to the Board when there is no application on file will be
purged after six months.

NB: Virginia law considers material misrepresentation of fact in an application for licensure
to be a Class 1 misdemeanor. Misrepresentation may be by commission or omission. Be
sure of your facts and provide full responses to the Board’s questions.

PROCEEDING TO THE APPLICATION SIGNIFIES THAT YOU HAVE READ AND
ACCEPT THE FOREGOING PRINCIPLES REGARDING THE BOARD’S PROCESSES.

[ ]1. Complete the online application. https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ which includes paying the
nonrefundable application fee of $302.00. Application fees may only be paid using Visa, MasterCard or Discover. .

[]2. Examination Scores — If you took all three steps of the USMLE examination or the FLEX examination,
contact the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) at (817) 868-4000 or www.fsmb.org to have your scores
submitted to the Board. Scores MAY NOT be faxed and MUST come directly from the FSMB. If using the FCVS
credentialing service, scores will be included.

If you took the National Board of Medical Examiners or a combination of the USMLE examination, contact the
National Board of Medical Examiners at (215) 590-9500 or www.nbme.org to have your scores submitted to the
Board. Scores MAY NOT be faxed and MUST come directly from the National Board. If using the FCVS
credentialing service, scores will be included.

If you took the LMCC examination, contact the Medical Council of Canada (MCC) at (613) 521-6012. Scores
MAY NOT be faxed and MUST come directly from the MCC. If using the FCVS credentialing service, scores will
be included.

If you took a state examination, contact the state agency or licensure board to have your scores submitted to the
Board. Scores MAY NOT be faxed and MUST come directly from the agency maintaining your score. If using the
FCVS credentialing service, scores will be included.

[13. Disciplinary Inquiry - If using the FCVS credentialing service, the Physician Data Center Inquiry will be
included. If you have requested FLEX or USMLE scores be sent directly to the Board, the Physician Data
Center Inquiry will be provided in the score report. If you took the National Board of Medical Examiners, the
LMCC or a State Board examination, contact the Federation of State Medical Boards at http://www.fsmb.org/pdc/ to
complete the on-line form.

[ 4. Transcripts — Official medical school transcripts must be received by the Virginia Board of Medicine.
Medical school transcripts must be official and bear the school seal. Transcripts will only be accepted if they come
directly from the medical school to the Board or if sent to the Board by the applicant in the same unopened envelope
in which they were received. If using the FCVS credentialing service, transcripts will be included.

[ 15. Employment Activity (Form B) Questionnaire — List all activities from the date of graduation from medical school
including but not limited to internships, residencies, fellowships, employment, affiliations, private practice, periods of
non-activity or unemployment, observerships and volunteer service in the “Employment Activity” section of the
application beginning with your first activity following medical school graduation.

Form B’s sent to the Virginia Board of Medicine by the applicant will not be accepted.
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A completed Form B Activity Questionnaire or a letter of recommendation must be received from all locations of service
or professional employment, observerships, professional research positions or professional volunteer service listed for the
past 5 years.

If engaged in private practice, without hospital affiliation, have another physician who is not related submit a letter
attesting to your practice.

For applicants practicing tele-radiology or tele-pathology, a form B is only required from the medical director of
the company to which you are employed. To be accepted, the Form B must be signed by the medical director with
a complete professional evaluation.

For applicants practicing all other forms of telemedicine and for Locum Tenens physicians employment
verifications must be received from each location of service in the past 5 years.

Completed Form B’s may be attached as a PDF and sent to medicineandsurgeryapplications@dhp.virginia.gov ,
faxed to (804) 527-4426 or mailed by the person completing the document.

[]6. Postgraduate training —

A completed Form B Activity Questionnaire or a letter of recommendation must be received from all places of
postgraduate training including internships, residencies and fellowships listed for the past 5 years. If your postgraduate
training occurred more than 5 years ago, you may send copies of your certificates of completion. Otherwise have your
program  complete and  forward Form  B. PDF  attachments may be emailed to
medicineandsurgeryapplications@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to (804) 527-4426 or mailed.  If using the FCVS
credentialing service, postgraduate training verification is included.

[ ]7. License Verification

Verification of full medical licenses from all jurisdictions within the United States, its territories and possessions or
Canada in which you have been issued a full license must be received by the Board. Please contact the applicable
jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to practice medicine to inquire about having documentation
forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine. Verification must come from the jurisdiction and may be sent by email
to medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to (804) 527-4426 or mailed. This documentation is NOT provided by the FCVS
credentialing service.

[ 8. AMA Physician Profile — Visit the AMA website at http://info.commerce.ama-assn.org/AMA-profiles-hub to order
a profile. This document must come from the AMA and may be sent by email to medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to
(804) 527-4426 or mailed. This documentation is NOT provided by the FCVS credentialing service.

Please note:
» Applications not completed within 12 months may be purged without notice from the board.
» Additional information not already listed may be requested at any time during the process.
» Application fees are non-refundable.
» The Board’s mailing address is The Virginia Board of Medicine

Perimeter Center

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233

» Email inquiries are normally responded to within 2 business days. Send your email inquiries to
medicineandsurgeryapplications@dhp.virginia.gov.
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» Submission of an application does not guarantee a license. A review of your application could result in the finding
that you may not be eligible pursuant to Virginia laws and regulations.



	► Application fees are non-refundable.

