

Perimeter Center 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Henrico, VA 23233-1463

Email: csac@dhp.virginia.gov

Phone: (804) 367-4610 E-Fax: (804) 977-9741 Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Counseling/

## APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION CERTIFIED SUBSTANCE ABUSE COUNSELING ASSISTANT (CSAC-A)

This application is for individuals who have a high school diploma, general education development (GED) certificate, or a post-secondary degree, have completed 120 clock hours of didactic training in substance abuse education, and have completed 180 hours of experience performing substance abuse tasks with clients under supervision.

## **APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS**

Follow these steps to apply for Certification by Examination:

- Read the <u>Laws</u> regarding governing Counseling and the <u>Regulations</u> governing the Certification of Substance Abuse
  Counselors and Substance Abuse Counseling Assistants in Virginia and utilize the detailed information in the <u>Certified Substance Abuse Counseling Assistant (CSAC-A) Handbook</u> for detailed information about the required documents and process to obtain a certification.
- 2. **Gather and Request** ALL the necessary documents in the checklist BEFORE beginning the online application. Have copies of the required documents ready to upload as part of the application process. PDF format is preferred.
- 3. Apply Online by registering for an account or logging into your existing account.
  - Select the license type of: "Substance Abuse Counseling Assistant" and the Obtained by Method of "Examination".
  - o Complete the required fields.
- 4. **Upload** the necessary documentation within the online application portal.
  - Ensure you have uploaded all the necessary documents as indicated by this checklist. A complete application
    provides the best opportunity to avoid delays in the review and approval process.
  - Once you have paid the application fee, your application will be submitted, and you can no longer upload additional documents. Any documents you did not upload will need to be emailed to the Board and will delay the review of your application.
- 5. **Pay** the application fee within the online application portal.
  - Application fees are non-refundable.

Rev. 12/2024

- The application fee for Certified Substance Abuse Counseling Assistant by Examination is \$115.00.
- Your application is not submitted until the fee is paid.
- 6. Wait for Board review of your application and reply to any correspondence from the Board.
  - Applications that are complete, fully documented, and meet the minimum requirements for the <u>Regulations</u> governing the Certification of Substance Abuse Counselors and Substance Abuse Counseling Assistants will be reviewed within 30 days of receipt of a complete application.
  - Incomplete applications remain active for one year from the date of payment, after which incomplete application files are destroyed as outlined in the Library of Virginia records retention and disposition schedules. If your application is not completed in the one-year timeframe, you are required to re-apply by submitting a new application, fee, and documentation pursuant to the regulations at that time.
  - Your <u>online checklist</u> will be your primary source of application status.
  - As documentation is received and reviewed, your checklist will be updated, and an automated email will be sent to you 24 hours later.

## **RULES AND GUIDELINES**

- In order to be considered for Certification as a Substance Abuse Counseling Assistant (CSAC-A) by Examination, you must meet all the education and training requirements in <a href="mailto:18VAC115-30-62">18VAC115-30-62</a>, have completed the supervised experience requirements of <a href="mailto:18VAC115-30-63">18VAC115-30-63</a>, and would like approval to take the Virginia State Constructed CSAC-A examination for certification as a Certified Substance Abuse Counseling Assistant (CSAC-A).
- Please notify the Board in writing within 60 days of a name change or address change by completing the <a href="Name/Address Change">Name/Address Change</a> form.
- Providing false or misleading information as well as omitting information in response to information requested in the
  application or as part of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for
  denial of or taking disciplinary action against an existing registration, certification, or license.
- Pursuant to <u>Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.2</u> addresses of certification holders are made available to the public. Normally, the Address of Record is the publicly disclosed address. If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, you may provide a second publicly disclosable address (e.g. work or practice address). If you would like your Address of Record to be publicly available, please complete both sections with the same address on the application.
- Pursuant to <u>Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (A)</u>, you are required to submit your social security number, or your control number issued by the Virigina Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended, and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided for by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. <u>No certification will be issued to any individual who has failed to disclose one of these numbers.</u>

CSAC-A EXAMINATION APPLICATION CHECKLIST			
Check	REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION	SUBMIT BY	
Required	1. NPDB SELF-QUERY		
	You must request and submit a copy of your <u>National Practitioners Data Bank</u> self-query report with your application. The report must be current and generated no more than 30 days prior to submitting your application for licensure.	ONLINE PORTAL UPLOAD	
Required	2. VERIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE		
	Provide a completed copy of the <u>Verification of Experience for CSAC-A</u> form to provide verification that you completed at least 180 hours performing tasks with substance abuse clients while under supervision.  • Have your supervisor(s) complete the entire form to verify that you have completed the supervised experience requirements as required by		

If Applicable	7. CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS, PAST ACTIONS or POSSIBLE IMPAIRMENTS	
	If you answer "YES" to any of the questions on the criminal convictions, past actions, or possible impairment questions on the application, you must include a detailed explanation and supporting documentation. Please refer to <a href="Guidance Document 115-2">Guidance Document 115-2</a> , for a list of required documentation and further information. Examples of supporting documentation that may be required include:	ONLINE PORTAL UPLOAD
	<ul> <li>Certified copies of court orders, orders for disciplinary action or denials.</li> <li>Evidence that court ordered, or disciplinary action requirements have been met.</li> <li>Evidence of past treatment, such as a discharge summary.</li> <li>Letter from the applicant's current healthcare provider(s).</li> <li>Letter from the applicant explaining the factual circumstances of the criminal offense, disciplinary action, denial, or condition or impairment.</li> <li>Letters from employers concerning work performance.</li> <li>All applications are reviewed on a case-by-case basis.</li> </ul>	

END OF INSTRUCTIONS. PROCEED TO THE **ONLINE APPLICATION**.