	Virginia Depai	rtment of
-		Professions
	Board of Nursing	

9960 Mayland Drive
Suite 300
Perimeter Center
Henrico, Virginia 23233
(804) 367-4515
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing

CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS ENDORSEMENT OF NURSE AIDE CERTIFICATION

Pursuant to Virginia nursing regulation <u>18 VAC 90-25-72</u> a nurse aide certificate may be endorsed by application to Virginia. To be eligible for endorsement of a nurse aide certificate from another state an applicant must: (1) be a graduate of a **state-approved** nurse aide education program that meets the requirements for clinical training and competency set forth in 42 CFR 483.152; (2) have satisfactorily completed a competency evaluation program; and (3) be currently registered in another state, with no finding of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of property.

♥ However, if you previously held a nurse aide certificate in Virginia, you are required to file a reinstatement application for nurse aide certification. READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY BEFORE SUBMITTING THIS APPLICATION.

<u>Note</u>: Applications are retained for one (1) year <u>only</u>. If all requirements are not met within 1 year of the Board receiving the application, a new application will be required.

REQUIREMENTS BELOW - Check COMPLETED applicable items that are included with your application:		
	Completed Application (*No fee for application)	
	Current Nurse Aide Certificate Registered in another state	
	Verification of Current Registration of Nurse Aide Certification(s) from all states registered: the Board is required to verify your nurse aide certificate(s) in the states where you are registered. If the state(s) where you are registered do not provide electronic verification or the electronic verification obtained by the Board is incomplete, the Board will contact you with additional information. Some states require a fee in order to verify your certification to us if we must mail it to them.	
OR (If Applicable)		
	I have enclosed from the clerk(s) of court, certified copies of <u>all</u> criminal conviction records OR if court records have been destroyed, a certified statement from the court stating records are no longer available.	
 Additional Information: Application processing times are between 30-45 business days to complete. Check your application status by going to your application portal at: https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Login.aspx. Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/. Documents submitted with the application are property of the Board and cannot be returned. All supplemental requested documents may be emailed to: nurseaide@dhp.virginia.gov or faxed to 804-799-7925. 		



APPLICATION FOR ENDORSEMENT OF NURSE AIDE CERTIFICATION ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS

ELIGIBILITY FOR ENDORSEMENT OF NURSE AIDE CERTIFICATION

Certification by endorsement is only available for **initial** certification in Virginia. If you have previously been certified as a nurse aide in Virginia, <u>**DO NOT**</u> submit this application. You will need to apply for reinstatement of your lapsed certification instead. You can obtain the reinstatement application by contacting this office again for the correct application or by downloading it from <u>https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/</u>

Your certification must also be in good standing in all states that you were certified and must be current in <u>AT LEAST</u> one state in which you hold certification. If you do not have a certificate that is current, please contact the nurse aide registry office in the state in which you were most recently certified and employed as a nurse aide to determine whether your certification can be renewed/reinstated.

PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTIONS/ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR SELECTED STATES:		
FL, MD, CA	If certified in these states PRIOR TO 1992, you may NOT meet requirements for endorsement as set forth in the Virginia Board of Nursing Regulations Governing Certified Nurse Aides as none of those states performed competency testing meeting federal requirements prior to that date.	
MD	MD issues certifications for geriatric nurse aide (G.N.A.), NOT a certified nurse aide (C.N.A.), in order to be eligible for endorsement in Virginia. Maryland's C.N.A. is not equivalent to Virginia's C.N.A. designation and does not meet the endorsement requirements as set forth in Virginia Board of Nursing Regulations Governing the Practice of Certified Nurse Aides. If you were certified as a GNA during 1992, the Board will need verification that you took the nurse aide competency exam	
AL, IL	If certified in these states and two years or more have elapsed since that State's registry office has been informed of employment for you by your employer, the Board will send you additional paperwork in order to obtain your employment history.	
SC (prior to 10/1/02) NC (after 1998) Hawaii (prior to 2008) FL	These states did/do not approve all education programs through the nurse aide regulatory authority. Therefore, if you challenged the State test through having completed a non-approved program, a preparatory, or a one/two-day review program, you would not meet the requirements for endorsement as set forth in the Virginia Board of Nursing Regulations Governing the Practice of Certified Nurse Aides. Please provide proof of program completion (certificate/letter from program director) from your original State of certification.	